In the village Murovanka, Grodno region, there is a unique monument of defensive architecture - Church of the Nativity of the Virgin. Built in the middle of the 16th century (between 1516 and 42) in retrospective Gothic style with Renaissance elements.

Church in the village of Murovanka

Defensive temples of Belarus Murovanka

In many sources you can find another name for this temple - Malomozheykovskaya Church. This is a reference to the village. Small Mozheykov, where the estate of the Romers, and earlier the Matskevich-Shklenskys, was located. It was thanks to the local landowner Matskevich that this defensive temple appeared.

Church in the village of Murovanka

Temple Murovanka Belarus

Architecture and history

The temple-fortress Murovanka has walls 2 meters thick. The shape of the building is one-storey, with four defensive turrets at the corners. The walls are richly decorated with shallow niches of various sizes. The round window above the main entrance is reminiscent of examples of Romanesque and Gothic architecture. Despite its massiveness, the church seems very small inside thanks to the thick stone walls.

Defensive Church of the Nativity of the Virgin in the village of Murovanka

The idea to build a defensive temple was clearly far-sighted. Over the 500 years of its history, the Malomozheykovskaya Church has managed to survive several wars.

Defensive temple in the village of Murovanka

So during the Russian-Polish war of the mid-17th century, the Church of the Nativity of the Virgin served as a refuge for peasants and local residents. However, the battles severely damaged this architectural monument.

Malomozheykovskaya church Murovanka

In the middle of the 18th century, during the Northern War, the church suffered even more. The decision to restore it was made by Emperor Alexander I, who was passing through these lands.

Beautiful churches of Belarus Murovanka

Murovanka
source: Globus of Belarus

In the middle of the 19th century, the church was partially reconstructed. The appearance of the temple has undergone changes: a vestibule was added from the western facade, western towers were built on, one of which received a bell tower. Loopholes were laid and stairs dismantled. Cornices also appeared and window openings were enlarged. In this form, the church has survived to this day.

Architecture of Belarus Murovanka

An unusual event happened in 1928, when the Polish authorities reconsecrated the church into a church. How do you know in the territory Belarus usually the opposite happened: churches became churches. In the 90s, the defensive church of Murovanka was returned to the Orthodox.

Defensive Church of the Nativity of the Virgin in the village of Murovanka

Malomozheykovskaya Church located 40 kilometers from the city Leads along the M6 ​​highway to the side Grodno. The temple is visible from afar, so finding it is not difficult. Keep in mind that it will be difficult to get into the territory of the church after 17:00 - the gates are usually closed.

Not far from Murovanka you can visit an interesting agricultural town of Tarnovo... Other sights of Belarus on the map.

LEAVE AN ANSWER

Enter your comment
Your name

В деревне Мурованка, Гродненской области, находится уникальный памятник оборонительной архитектуры – церковь Рождества Богородицы. Построена в середине 16 века (между 1516 и 42 годами) в ретроспективно готическом стиле с элементам ренессанса.

Церковь в деревне Мурованка

Оборонительные храмы Беларуси Мурованка

Во многих источник можно встретить и другое название этого храма – Маломожейковская церковь. Это отсылка к поселку Малое Можейкова, где находилось имение Ромеров, а ранее Мацкевичей-Шклёнских. Как раз благодаря местному помещику Мацкевичу и появился этот оборонительный храм.

Церковь в деревне Мурованка

Храм Мурованка Беларусь

Архитектура и история

Храм-крепость Мурованка имеет стены толщиной в 2 метра. По форме здание – одноэтажное, с четырьмя оборонительными башенками по углам. Стены богато украшены неглубокими разноформатными нишами. Круглое окно, расположенное над главным входом, напоминает примеры романской и готической архитектуры. Несмотря на массивность, церковь кажется очень маленькой внутри благодаря толстым каменным стенам.

Оборонительный храм Рождества Богородицы в деревне Мурованка

Идея строить оборонительный храм явно была дальновидной. За 500 лет своей истории Маломожейковская церковь успела пережить несколько войн.

Оборонительный храм в деревне Мурованка

Так во времена русско-польской войны середины 17 века церковь Рождества Богородицы служила убежищем для крестьян и местных жителей. Однако сражения сильно повредили этот памятник архитектуры.

Маломожейковская церковь Мурованка

В середине 18 века, во время Северной войны, церковь пострадала еще сильнее. Решение о ее восстановлении принял император Александр I, который проезжал через эти земли.

Красивые церкви Беларуси Мурованка

Мурованка
источник: Глобус Беларуси

В середине 19 века церковь частично реконструировали. Внешний вид храм претерпел изменения: со стороны западного фасада был пристроен притвор, надстроены западные башни, в одной из которых появилась колокольня. Были заложены бойницы и демонтированы лестницы. Также появились карнизы и были увеличены оконные проемы. В таком виде церковь сохранилась и сегодня.

Архитектура Беларуси Мурованка

Необычное событие случилось в 1928 году, когда польские власти переосвятили церковь в костел. Как понимаете на территории Беларуси обычно случалось наоборот: костелы становились церквями. В 90-ых годах оборонительный храм Мурованка вернули православным.

Оборонительный храм Рождества Богородицы в деревне Мурованка

Маломожейковская церковь находится в 40 километрах от города Лиды по трассе М6 в сторону Гродно. Храм виден издалека, поэтому найти его не составит труда. Учитывайте, что на территорию церкви будет сложно попасть после 17:00 – обычно закрыты ворота.

Недалеко от Мурованки можно посетить интересный агрогородок Тарново. Другие достопримечательности Беларуси на карте.

Если вы нашли ошибку, пожалуйста, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter.

5 1 голос
Оцените статью
Подписаться
уведомления
0 Комментарий
Inline Feedbacks
Посмотреть все комментарии