Close to urban area Velyka Berestovitsa there is an agro-town Malaya Berestovitsa. Several architectural monuments of the 19th century have been preserved here. Among which - Church of St. Anthony of Padua.

Malaya Berestovitsa

The church was built in difficult times, when Malaya Berestovitsa belonged to Volkovysk. The construction of the stone temple began in 1851 year, in place of the wooden predecessor.

Church of St. Anthony of Padua

When the work on the temple was coming to an end, there was an uprising in 1863. As you know, after this event, most of the churches on territory of Belarus were closed or transferred to the Orthodox Church. The same fate befell the church of St. Anthony of Padua.

Malaya Berestovitsa church

The church was returned to the Catholics in the 20s of the 20th century. However, the war and Soviet power were approaching, which did not bode well. The temple was burned by a local resident, after which it stood abandoned for a long time and was not used.

Church in Malaya Berestovitsa

The church architecture is unusual and even eclectic. It has a mixture of Renaissance and Gothic styles. The shape of the temple is simple and rectangular, small in size. The walls are decorated with false columns and arched niches. The only eye-catching element is a small faceted turret above the entrance.

Across the road is Church of Demetrius of Thessalonica. More sights of Belarus on the map.

5 1 vote
Rate this article
Subscribe
notice
0 Comment
Inline feedback
View all comments

По соседству с городским поселком Большая Берестовица находится агрогородок Малая Берестовица. Здесь сохранилось несколько памятников архитектуры 19 века. Среди которых – костел святого Антония Падуанского.

Малая Берестовица

Костел строился в сложные времена, когда Малая Берестовица принадлежала Волковысским. Возводить каменный храм начали в 1851 году, на месте деревянного предшественника.

Костел святого Антония Падуанского

Когда работы над храмом подходили к завершению, случилось восстание 1863 года. Как известно, после этого события большинство костелов на территории Беларуси были закрыты, либо переданы православной церкви. Такая же судьба постигла храм святого Антония Падуанского.

Малая Берестовица костел

Костел вернули католикам в 20-ые годы, 20 века. Однако близилась война и советская власть, которые не сулили ничего хорошего. Храм был сожжен местным жителем, после чего долго стоял заброшенным и не использовался.

Костел в Малой Берестовице

Костел по архитектуре необычный и даже эклектичный. В нём чувствуется смешения стилей ренессанса и готики. По форме храм простой и прямоугольный, небольшого размера. Стены украшены фальш-колоннами и арочными нишами. Единственный бросающейся в глаза элемент – маленькая граненая башенка над входом.

Через дорогу находится церковь Дмитрия Солунского. Больше достопримечательностей Беларуси на карте.

Если вы нашли ошибку, пожалуйста, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter.

5 1 голос
Оцените статью
Подписаться
уведомления
0 Комментарий
Inline Feedbacks
Посмотреть все комментарии