Downtown Columns you can see not only an unusual cinema, but also an interesting mural, which depicts a rather strange temple with two different towers. This is an antique Church of Saint Casimir, which was located on the site of today's stadium on Leninskaya Street.

Church of St. Casimir in Stolbtsy

The history of the church begins in the mid-17th century, when a mission of Dominican monks arrived in Stolbtsy. As often happened, the monks first erected a small wooden residential building, and used an old temple in neighboring Kovalevshchina for prayers (by the way, a small homestead). Over the course of several decades, the Dominican mission grew and work began on the construction of a stone church.

What the church looked like in Stolbtsy
zdymak zrobleny da 1933, author: J. Bułhak
Rebuilding the church in Stolbtsy
1933, krynitsa: Archiwum Akt Nowych

It is quite possible that the temple was rebuilt in the first half of the 17th century under the new owners of Stolbtsy - the Czartoryskis. The architecture of the church belongs to the early Baroque style, of which very few examples have survived in Belarus.

Beautiful cinema in Stolbtsy
The church was located to the left of the cinema building; previously there was a shopping mall here

After the uprising of 1830, the Dominican monastery in Stolbtsy was liquidated, and 40 years later the church building was rebuilt as an Orthodox church. A porch will be added to the main volume, a light drum will appear on the roof, and a huge tower will rise above the pediment. The new appearance of the temple will not be unique; similar reconstructions were found everywhere (especially similar church in Krivoshin).

Church of St. Casimir and the Monastery of the Dominicans in Stolbtsy
1900, source: Nova Gallery

What kind of gate was built in Stobtsy?

Stolbtsovsky Church, what did it look like inside?
zdymak zrobleny da 1933, author: J. Bułhak

In 1921, Stolbtsy was part of Interwar Poland, so the ancient church was returned to the Catholic community, and then phased work began on the restoration of the church. It was during that period that the temple had two different towers.

Kascel of Saint Casimir Stobtsy
1933, krynitsa: Archiwum Akt Nowych

During the Second World War, the building was partially destroyed, it was no longer restored, and in 1958 the ruins were finally dismantled. Today, on the site where the Church of St. Casimir stood, a copy of the gate, visible in many old photographs, was erected.

The church that was next to the cinema in Stolbtsy

Columns in the early 20th century
krynica: Biblioteka Narodowa
History of the church in Stolbtsy
zdymak zrobleny da 1925, author: J. Bułhak

Where was the Church of St. Casimir in Stolbtsy?

Below is a dot marking the place where the church was located in Stolbtsy:

The city is still worth seeing Church of St. Anne and stop by the Yakub Kolas Museum.

5 1 vote
Rate this article
Subscribe
notice
0 Comment
Inline feedback
View all comments

В центре города Столбцы можно увидеть не только необычный кинотеатр, а ещё и любопытный мурал, на котором изображен довольно странный храм с двумя разными башнями. Это – старинный костел Святого Казимира, который располагался на месте сегодняшнего стадиона на улице Ленинской.

Костел Святого Казимира в Стольбцах

История костела начинается в середине 17 века, когда в Столбцы прибыла миссия монахов-доминиканцев. Как это часто бывало, сперва монахи возвели небольшой деревянный жилой корпус, а под молитвы использовали старенький храм в соседней Ковалевщине (там кстати сохранилась небольшая усадьба). За несколько десятков лет доминиканская миссия разрослась и были начаты работы по возведению каменного костела.

Как выглядел костел в Столбцах
здымак зроблены да 1933 года, аўтар: J. Bułhak
Перестройка костела в Столбцах
1933 год, крыніца: Archiwum Akt Nowych

Вполне возможно что храм был перестроен в первой половине 17 века при новых владельцах Столбцов – Чарторыйских. Архитектура костела относится к стилю раннего барокко, примеров которого на территории Беларуси сохранилось совсем немного.

Красивый кинотеатр в Столбцах
костел располагался слева от здания кинотеатра, раньше тут ещё была постройка торговых рядов

После восстания 1830 года монастырь доминиканцев в Столбцах ликвидирован, а спустя 40 лет здание костела перестроят под православный храм. К основному объему добавят притвор, на крыше появится световой барабан, а над фронтоном вырастит огромная башня. Новый облик храма не станет уникальным, подобные перестройки встречались повсеместно (особенно похожа церковь в Кривошине).

Костёл Святого Казимира и кляштор доминиканцев в Столбцах
1900 год, источник: Nova Gallery

Что за браму построили в Стобцах?

Столбцовский костел, как выглядел внутри?
здымак зроблены да 1933 года, аўтар: J. Bułhak

В 1921 году Столбцы входили в состав Межвоенной Польши, поэтому старинный храм вернули католической общине, тогда же начались поэтапные работы по восстановлению костела. Именно в тот период у храма появились две разноплановые башни.

Касцёл Святога Казіміра Стоўбцы
1933 год, крыніца: Archiwum Akt Nowych

Во время Второй мировой войны здание было частично разрушено, восстанавливать его уже не стали, а в 1958 году руины окончательно разобраны. Сегодня на том месте где стоял костел Святого Казимира возвели копию брамы, заметную на многих старых снимках.

Костел который был рядом с кинотеатром в Столбцах

Столбцы в начале 20 века
крыніца: Biblioteka Narodowa
История костела в Столбцах
здымак зроблены да 1925 года, аўтар: J. Bułhak

Где был костел святого Казимира в Столбцах?

Ниже точка с отметкой места где находился костел в Столбцах:

В городе ещё стоит посмотреть церковь Святой Анны и заехать в музей Якуба Коласа.

5 1 голос
Оцените статью
Подписаться
уведомления
0 Комментарий
Inline Feedbacks
Посмотреть все комментарии