Church in Golshany is an architectural monument of the early 17th century. The original version of the temple was built by order and with money Pavel Stefan Sapieha. In 1618 he invited the monks Franciscan orders for which a church was built, and a monastery was founded.

Church and monastery in Golshany

History and architecture

Most historians agree that the church acquired its modern appearance after the reconstruction in 1770.

Church in Golshany

Church of St. John the Baptist made in style baroque. The building has a rectangular shape and is divided into three naves. The church was built without towers, and perhaps the main decorative element is figured pediment. In addition, the temple is decorated with pilasters, niches and figured windows.

Golshany church

After the defeat of the Polish uprising in 1830, the Franciscan monastery in Golshany was abolished. Since 1832 the church has become an ordinary parish church.

Franciscan monastery in Golshany

Things to Do in Golshany

Inside the church there is a fresco behind the altar painting, subsidized by the XNUMXth century. In the center of which are depicted scenes of the Baptism of Christ. It is located on a flat wall, but at the same time it is made in such a way that it creates the illusion of a three-dimensional image.

kostel-ionna-golshany

To the left of the temple is the residential building of the former monastery. For a long time they are trying to restore it, today it arrives in a rather neglected form.

Building of the Franciscan monastery in Golshany

In the first half of the 19th century, in front of the entrance to the church, a gate-bell tower. Made in a more classical style of architecture, bunk.

Brama bell tower in Golshany

After the end of World War II, the temple was empty for many years, its reconstruction began in the 90s. Today it is active and open to everyone. Pavel Sapieha and his wife are buried in the Golsha church.

Golsha legend

The legend about a ghost is connected with the church in Golshany white lady, whose silhouette happened to be seen near the building. The giving itself dates back to the time of the construction of the monastery. When, during the construction of one of the walls, first one collapse occurred, and then another, the builders, who were very afraid of Sapieha's wrath, decided to make a sacrifice the castle. Namely, to immure the first woman who brings her husband lunch. She became the wife of a young bricklayer. Since then, her ghost has been wandering these lands.

It is interesting that this legend has confirmation. Since during the restoration of the church, a walled skeleton was found in a niche of one of the walls. At first it was planned to bury the restless soul in the temple, but by mistake the builders buried the bones without a proper ritual. Shortly after this, the men died or perished without having time to tell about the place of burial. It is also interesting that when the skeleton was removed from the wall, it cracked and began to collapse. Seeing this, urgent measures were taken to strengthen the masonry.

In the village of Golshany is quite interesting ordinary building of the early 20th century. You can also see wooden building of the Polish commune.

5 1 vote
Rate this article
Subscribe
notice
0 Comment
Inline feedback
View all comments

Костел в Гольшанах является памятником архитектуры начала 17 века. Первоначальный вариант храма был построен по приказу и на деньги Павла Стефана Сапеги. В 1618 году он пригласил монахов ордена францисканцев для которых и возводился костел, а также основан монастырь.

Костел и монастырь в Гольшанах

История и архитектура

Большинство историков сходится во мнении, что свой современный облик костел приобрел после перестройки в 1770 году.

Костел в Гольшанах

Костел святого Иоанна Крестителя выполнен в стиле барокко. Здание имеет прямоугольную форму и разделено на три нефа. Костел строился без башен, а пожалуй главный декоративный элемент – фигурный фронтон. Кроме этого храм украшен пилястрами, нишами и фигурными окнами.

Гольшанский костел

После поражения польского восстания 1830 года монастырь францисканцев в Гольшанах упразднили. Костел с 1832 года стал обычным приходским.

Монастырь францисканцев в Гольшанах

Достопримечательности в Гольшанах

Внутри костела находится фресковая заалтарная роспись, дотированная XVIII веком. В центре которой изображены сцены Крещения Христа. Она расположена на плоской стене, но вместе с тем выполнена так, что создаёт иллюзию объёмности изображения.

kostel-ionna-golshany

Слева к храму прилегает жилой корпус бывшего монастыря. Долгое время его пробуют восстановить, сегодня он прибывает в довольно запущенном виде.

Корпус монастыря Францисканцев в Гольшанах

В первой половине 19 века, перед входом в костел построена брама-колокольня. Выполнена в более классическом стиле архитектуры, двухъярусная.

Брама колокольня в Гольшанах

После окончания ВОВ храм долгие годы пустовал, его реконструкция началась в 90-ых годах. Сегодня действующий и открыл для всех желающих. В гольшанском костеле похоронены Павел Сапега и его жена.

Гольшанская легенда

С костелом в Гольшанах связана легенда о призраке Белой дамы, силуэт которой случалось увидеть около здания. Само придание относится ко времени строительства монастыря. Когда при возведении одной из стен произошло сначала одно обрушение, а потом другое, строители, которые очень боялись гнева Сапеги, приняли решение принести жертву замку. А именно замуровать первую женщину, которая принесёт мужу обед. Ею стала жена молодого каменщика. С тех пор её призрак блуждает по этим землям.

Интересно то, что этой легенда имеет подтверждение. Так как при реставрации костела в нише одной из стен был найден замурованный скелет. Сначала планировалось отпеть в храме неупокоенную душу, но по ошибке строители захоронили кости без надлежащего ритуала. Вскоре после этого мужчины умерли или погибли, так и не успев рассказать о месте захоронения. Интересно и то, что когда скелет извлекли из стены, она дала трещину и начала рушится. Увидев это срочно были приняты меры по укреплению кладки.

В деревне Гольшаны довольно интересная рядовая застройка начала 20 века. Также можно посмотреть деревянное здание польской гмины.

5 1 голос
Оцените статью
Подписаться
уведомления
0 Комментарий
Inline Feedbacks
Посмотреть все комментарии