One of the oldest places in the Molodechno region is today’s agricultural town Town, the first mention of which dates back to the middle of the 12th century (1161). Here you can see part of the ordinary buildings, a church, an ancient Jewish cemetery and the building of a former synagogue, a new church, the ruins of a water mill and, of course, the main attraction - castle.

Garadoc

At first glance, it seems that Gorodok is an ordinary village, of which there are hundreds in Belarus, but as soon as you approach the massive mountain, all doubts go away - the place is historical.

Castles of Belarus

On this very settlement, a long time ago (it is assumed that somewhere in the 14th century), a real castle was built - “Garadzec”, the defensive ditches and earthen fortifications of which have survived to this day.

Castle in Gorodok

In the center of the castle there is an oval detinets (island) measuring approximately 40 by 60 meters, which, like several centuries ago, is surrounded by water. And around the water on all sides there is an embankment, about 10 meters high. The passage to the fortress existed only on one side, the eastern side, where a wooden donjon tower previously stood. It is unknown how long the castle existed on this site, but it is likely that by the beginning of the 18th century it no longer existed. In addition to the unique relief, the historical object in front of us is reminiscent of a stone with an information plaque.

Zamychysha Garadok

Since the 17th century, the Town has been mentioned as one of the countless estates of the Radziwills, who really did not invest much in its development and, apparently, rarely visited here. Therefore, in the end, the lands were sold to the Kodnicki family, who built their own small estate next to the old castle. Then, already in the first half of the 19th century, the town passed to the Tyshkevichs, under whom the town flourished again. Brick buildings are being built more actively, but the main buildings still remain wooden, which will lead to a severe fire that will almost completely destroy the Town.

Near the reservoir, right on the Western Berezina River, stands water Mill late 19th century.

Gorodok village, Molodechno district

The building is impressive in its size even in a state of ruins; not every settlement in those days had such mills. For example, in the neighboring Petrovshchina The mill, although it was made of stone, was quite small.

Abandoned mill in Gorodok

The foundation is made of large rubble stone, the base is made of smaller ones, and 2 floors are already completely brick.

Mill ruins

The building surprises with the abundance of decorative elements that you would not expect to see here: the facade is decorated with pilasters, a stepped cornice and a rather unusual pediment. This is how it turns out to be a monument of industrial architecture with neo-Gothic elements.

Stary Mlyn Garadok

Mlyn u Garadku 1931
Mlyn u Garadku 1931

The town stores and remembers many interesting facts, legends and details. It is believed that here, the daughter of Vincent Dunin-Martsinkevich, Camilla organized a school for orphans and children from peasant families. Later, like her father, she would be arrested for her activities. Despite the challenges and problems, the place was constantly developing, and the second half of the 19th century became an active time for the development of the Town; the local synagogue was also built during that period.

The former synagogue in the village of Garadok

Unfortunately, the building has not retained its original architecture, but under a layer of plaster there is still authentic brick.

Synagogue building in Gorodok

On the synagogue territory there are several memorial stones, reminiscent of the fact that the Town was a Jewish town. During the German occupation, a ghetto was created here, in which more than 1942 residents were shot in 700.

Small town Gorodok

Memorial in Gorodok

A little further from the center there is also an ancient Jewish cemetery, unfortunately getting to it is problematic - all the approaches are lined with residential buildings. Below are newsreels from 1931.

Old photo of Garadoc
newsreel 1931
Old photo of Garadoc
newsreel 1931

Opposite the synagogue there is a church, which was built in 1874, on the site of a wooden predecessor that burned down in a fire.

Trinity Church in Gorodok

Interestingly, the stone fence and part of the gate have been preserved from the old church. From 1944 to 1991 the temple was closed and gradually destroyed.

Ruins of Garadok Gate

Fence near the church in Gorodok

There is also a church in Gorodok. The modern one appeared not so long ago and was rebuilt from an ordinary residential building, to which a turret with a spire was added.

Church in Horodok

The old Church of St. John the Baptist was most likely located on the outskirts of the Town, where there is a Catholic cemetery. It was built in the 30s of the last century from wood, below in the photo you can see what the building looked like.

Old photo of Garadoc
1930, krynitsa: be-tarask.wikipedia

Today's Catholic cemetery.

Catholic cemetery in the village of Gorodok

What remains of the church in Gorodok?

A modest wooden cross serves as a reminder of the church.

Draulyany kryzh

Old graves and the heights of Garadok

In the center of the Town there is a museum where, if you wish, you can learn more interesting things about the history of the place. Below is the location of the castle on the map:

If you're in the area, I highly recommend visiting Molodechno и Lebedevo.

0 0 vote
Rate this article
Subscribe
notice
0 Comment
Inline feedback
View all comments

Одно из самых старых местечек Молодечненского района – это сегодняшний агрогородок Городок, первые упоминания о котором относятся ещё к середине 12 века (1161 год). Посмотреть тут можно часть рядовой застройки, церковь, старинное еврейское кладбище и здание бывшей синагоги, новый костел, руины водяной мельницы ну и конечно главную достопримечательность – замчище.

Гарадок

С первого взгляда кажется что Городок – это обычная деревня, каких в Беларуси сотни, но как только подъезжаешь к массивной горе, все сомнения уходят – место историческое.

Замчища Беларуси

На этом самом городище, давным-давно (предполагается что где-то в 14 веке), был построен настоящий замок – “Гарадзец”, оборонительные рвы и земляные укрепления которого дошли до наших дней.

Замчище в Городке

В центре замчища – овальный детинец (остров) размерами примерно 40 на 60 метров, который как и несколько веков назад окружает вода. А вокруг воды со всех сторон возвышается насыпь, порядка 10 метров. Проход в крепость существовал только с одной стороны, восточной, где раньше стояла деревянная башня-донжон. Как долго существовал замок на этом месте неизвестно, но вероятно, что к началу 18 века его уже не было. Кроме уникального рельефа, о том что перед нами исторический объект напоминает вот такой камень с информационной шильдой.

Замычыша Гарадок

С 17 века Городок упоминается как одно из бесчисленных имений Радзивиллов, которые правда не особо вкладывали в его развитие и по всей видимости редко тут бывали. Поэтому в итоге земли продали роду Кодницких, которые рядом со старым замкам построили свою небольшую усадьбу. Затем, уже в первой половине 19 века, Городок переходит к Тышкевичам, при которых местечко вновь расцвело. Начинают активнее строятся кирпичные здания, но основная застройка всё ещё остаётся деревянной, что приведёт к сильнейшему пожару почти полностью уничтожившим Городок.

Возле водоёма, прямо на реке Западная Березина, стоит водяная мельница конца 19 века.

Деревня Городок, Молодечненский район

Здание впечатляет своими размерами даже пребывая в состоянии руин, далеко не в каждом населенном пункте в те времена были такие мельницы. К примеру в соседней Петровщине мельница хоть и была каменная, но совсем небольшая.

Заброшенная мельница в Городке

Фундамент выполнен из крупного бутового камня, цоколь из более мелкого, а 2 этажа уже полностью кирпичные.

Руины мельницы

Постройка удивляет обилием декоративных элементов, которых тут не ожидаешь увидеть: фасад украшен пилястрами, ступенчатым карнизом и довольно необычным фронтоном. Вот такой вот получается памятник промышленной архитектуры с элементами неоготики.

Стары млын Гарадок

Млын у Гарадку 1931 год
Млын у Гарадку 1931 год

Городок хранит и помнит множество интересных фактов, легенд и деталей. Считается что тут, дочь Винцента Дунина-Марцинкевича, Камилла организовала школу для сирот и детей из крестьянских семей. Позже, как и отец, за свою деятельность она будет арестована. Несмотря на вызовы и проблемы, местечко постоянно развивалось, а вторая половина 19 века и вовсе стала активным временем застройки Городка, местная синагога также строилась в тот период.

Былая сінагога ў вёсцы Гарадок

К сожалению здание не сохранило первоначальный архитектуры, но под слоем штукатурки всё ещё есть аутентичный кирпич.

Здание синагоги в Городке

На синагогиальной территории есть несколько мемориальных камней, напоминающих о том что Городок был еврейским местечком. Во время немецкой оккупации тут создали гетто, в котором в 1942 году был расстреляно более 700 жителей.

Местечко Городок

Мемориал в Городке

Чуть в отдалении от центра есть и старинное еврейской кладбище, к сожалению подобраться к нему проблематично – всё подходы застроены жилыми домами. Ниже кадры из кинохроники 1931 года.

Старое фота Гарадок
кинохроника 1931 года
Старое фота Гарадок
кинохроника 1931 года

Напротив синагоги находится церковь, которую построили в 1874 году, на месте деревянного предшественника, сгоревшего в пожаре.

Троицкая церковь в Городке

Что интересно, каменная ограда и часть брамы сохранились от старой церкви. С 1944 года и по 1991 храм был закрыт и постепенно разрушался.

Руіны брамы Гарадок

Ограда возле церкви в Городке

Костел в Городке также имеется. Современный появился не так давно и был перестроен из обычного жилого дома, к которому достроили башенку со шпилем.

Костел в Городке

Старый храм Святого Иоанна Крестителя скорее всего находился на окраине Городка, где католическое кладбище. Строился в 30-ые года прошлого века из дерева, ниже на фото можно увидеть как здание выглядело.

Старое фота Гарадок
1930 год, крыніца: be-tarask.wikipedia

Сегодняшнее католическое кладбище.

Католическое кладбище в деревне Городок

Что осталось от костела в Городке?

Напоминанием о костеле служит скромный деревянный крест.

Драўляны крыж

Старыя могілкі ў вёсцы Гарадок

В центре Городка есть музей, где при желании сможете узнать больше интересного об истории места. Ниже точка с расположение замчища на карте:

Если будете в этих краях, то рекомендую заехать в Молодечно и Лебедево.

0 0 голоса
Оцените статью
Подписаться
уведомления
0 Комментарий
Inline Feedbacks
Посмотреть все комментарии