USSR Skate Museum

Today we will tell you not about a typical Minsk attractions, but rather about an unusual collection that has grown into a real museum. Gleb Benciovsky - the head of the Minsk skateboard school Destroyer, a skater with great experience and a person who, on his own, assembled the skate museum of the USSR.

Gleb, how did your project “USSR Skate Museum” start, where did the idea come from and how long has it been in existence?

The idea was born long ago, at the turn of 2004-2005. Its essence was to enable young and growing skaters of that period (already far enough even from the “first wave” of post-Soviet skateboarding) to see the “roots” of our still “Soviet” skateboarding, showing how it all began. It is very difficult to truly love something that you don’t know the history of, even despite the development of the skate industry.

IMG_2962

The first board in the collection (as it is not symbolic) was the legendary RPOM with "bottoms" from the Taiwanese "fish", and later, after digging in the "storehouses", I brought to light a few more artifacts. Friends, “friends of friends” and just “experienced” people, as far as possible, helped. Initially, I planned to put together only boards that were popular among skaters in the Soviet Union, but the topic turned out to be much deeper ...

So, 10 years ago, in the summer of 2005, the concept of the “USSR Skate Museum” was born and formed.

IMG_2902
How many exhibits are presented and what period does the collection cover?

Today, 102 skateboards are exhibited in the Skate Museum of the USSR, several more skateboards are waiting for delivery to Minsk. All skateboards are unique, original and conditionally divided into three subgroups: skateboards made in the USSR, home-made skateboards, components and skateboards of foreign production, magically falling into the territory of the USSR.

If we talk about skateboards made in the USSR, which are the main focus, they all get into the collection by determining the uniqueness of the configuration of suspensions and wheels, in accordance with the available documentation and information. For example, if the decks of one model do not differ in size, but only in the color of painting (it ended in green at the factory - we will paint it yellow), but all components are identical, such a skateboard goes to the reserve. If the model differs in equipment (for example, a change in the supplier factory, or a wheel model), or, as is the case with the Leningrad "turns”- the composition and color of the deck plastic used - of course they fall into the main collection.

As for the "homemade" - it's just a paradise for the collector, after all, each homemade skateboard is unique by default. Foreign boards are also a matter of pride.

IMG_2899

For example, I am pleased to see in the collection the original staff from Powell-Peralta, Gullwing, Tracker, Gordon & Smith, the first pro-model of Mike Vallely from World Industries, or the "name" board of the first European rider Santa Cruz - Klaus Grabke, not to mention the "fish" Eddie Ritegui from Alva skates using "slick" technology, or some real plastboards from the 70s, including the iconic one California FreeFormer.

What can we say about the "babies": the first German RollBrettl, or American Zippie Surf Boardstraight out of the 60s.

IMG_2900

Soviet skateboarding, although it had its own history, but, whatever one may say, it would not have appeared if there were no “overseas” prerequisites for it. In addition to skateboards, a large number of unique artifacts, archival photo and video materials have been collected.

IMG_2881

The “paper” component of the “USSR Skate Museum” presents both originals and copies of drawings for self-made skateboards, tutorials, specialized publications, posters and souvenirs from competitions, thematic magazines published in the RSFSR, the Ukrainian SSR, the Latvian SSR, interesting materials from republican and all-Union newspapers and magazines, and even skateboard passports. A "child theme" can be considered a rich archive of the first post-Soviet journals. Its "highlight" can be considered a selection of Saratov "Skate News", a collection of books on the history of world skateboarding and foreign specialized publications.

IMG_2895

The museum presents exhibits from the late 70s - early 90s. Based on information from primary sources, we can say that the first skateboards began to be produced in Soviet Estonia around 1978, and the USSR legally ceased to exist at the end of 1991 - hence the period. But, even before the start of mass industrial production of skateboards in the USSR (early-mid-80s of the last century), information about the outlandish Asphalt Surfers and Skats had already appeared on the pages of youth magazines, and some lucky ones could even try to ride on roller skates. boards brought from abroad, or try to make them yourself.

The first board appeared under my feet in 1988, and it was the heyday of the "second wave" of Soviet skateboarding.

IMG_2910

Perestroika slightly opened the “iron curtain” and it became possible to receive information, including from foreign tourists (for example, in 1988 in a pioneer camp near Minsk, thanks to my good knowledge of English, I was in the same international detachment with the Dutch, one of whom - Serge, was a skater, loved heavy music and brought several magazines with him ...).

IMG_2936

After the “collapse of the USSR”, its echoes in the form of skateboards sold in Sports Goods, or homemade products, still reminded of themselves, but by the mid-90s, they had almost completely disappeared in the “stash”, replaced by boards of the “new school”.

IMG_2937

How did you manage to amass such a large collection?

Great help is provided by friends, acquaintances and strangers, but close in spirit people. I have extensive correspondence with "key" skaters, working with archives. I am friends with, or familiar with, many skaters of the "second wave" of Soviet skateboarding. Fortunately, we are all practically the same age. When traveling, I regularly visit flea markets in different cities and countries. Skateboarding, like music, has no boundaries and this has been proven time and time again. I am very familiar with Jack Smith, the curator Morro Bay Skateboard Museum (California, USA). In his Museum there are several exhibits-gifts from me, but I have from him. The same goes for Jurgen Blumlein, probably the only curator in Europe Berlin Skateboard Museum, with whom we met and, subsequently, met, thanks to the “tip” of the Russian “oldovik” Denis Markhasin.

IMG_2893

Are there any analogues, or is the Skate Museum of the USSR unique?

USSR Skate Museum has no analogues in the post-Soviet space, both in terms of the number of exhibits and their uniqueness, although some enthusiastic collectors have appeared in Russia and Ukraine. Including thanks to my work.

IMG_2954

Have you held exhibitions of the Skate Museum of the USSR in other cities of Belarus, countries?

We exhibited twice in Moscow, as part of the exhibition "Faces & Laces" and contest 365 practice days. In each of the trips, the exhibition had a unique format, even in terms of the concept of indoor and outdoor, and both times caused a wide response. Everything was done with pure enthusiasm. A huge help in finding proper financial support for the projects was provided by Denis Markhasin and Pasha Sorokin, iconic Russian skaters of the 90s. And it turned out to be a really important experience.

IMG_2887

Currently, we are considering the possibility of holding an exhibition in the cultural capital of Russia - St. Petersburg, which has a rich "skateboard" history. There are several more projects, but they have been shelved for now. In Belarus, in particular, in Minsk, I really want to hold a large and large-scale exhibition. But so far, no clear proposals have been received. And I cannot finance such projects from my own pocket.

I tried to communicate with the organizers of the “Back to the USSR” exhibition, but, at the time of negotiations, the concept of their exhibition had already been formed, and Soviet skateboarding could not be competently integrated there. Although, having visited the exhibition, I was pleased with what I saw.

IMG_2951

Where is the USSR Skate Museum located? Who can visit it?

At the moment, almost the entire exposition is at our home. Of course, there is no longer enough space and you have to “squeeze”. Only friends and acquaintances can visit it, and I am very grateful to my wife for understanding.

IMG_2931
What difficulties do you face in the work of the USSR Skate Museum and how can you fix them?

It is difficult to name any obvious difficulties. First of all, probably, the lack of space. Several times I went out with a proposal to the relevant organizations, but, unfortunately, so far I have not received an adequate response. Also, certain “difficulties” can probably be called “flea hucksters”, who, learning that I would like to purchase this or that artifact not just like that, but for the “USSR Skate Museum”, inflate the prices of their lots to sky-high heights, counting on the fact that I am financed by the state, or a charitable foundation. Difficulties begin to arise with the search for archival materials. Not all libraries have newspapers and magazines that interest me, even if only for the fact thatto make copies. But, all difficulties can be solved if there are those who are ready to help! And there are many such people! 

IMG_2905

Will the exhibition of the Skate Museum of the USSR be of interest to people far from skateboarding? Or is it a highly specialized topic?

As the practice of holding traveling exhibitions in Russia has shown, the target audience is very wide. A huge number of young people who grew up in the USSR went through the classic stages: break, rock, skate, velo and moto, because all these “informal” (as it was commonly called then, and now there are still orthodox people with a similar lexicon) youth subcultures were enough are close to each other. It will be very interesting to remember the fun times of youth, looking at artifacts, finding out what you rode.

Lambada from all windows and Monsters of Rock in Moscow, Turkish sweaters and Pyramids, or worn jeans that are not “first youth” in which they are already allowed to walk and Bermuda shorts, a rare bottled Zhigulevskoye, or expensive Pepsi. Sneakers, or “lead crosses”, fingerless leather gloves “like Slater’s” and denim jackets ... Ripo, Rula, APOM, Skat, Sprint, Sport, Start, Leader, Turns and Taira, Rolling and Zafak, Meteor and even LUAZ . Not counting the nameless "skateboards for adults" ... And how much love was hidden in the popular names: Tortilla, Crazy Cucumber, Fish, Soap Dish, Yellow Coffin.

IMG_2921

The current generation of skaters will definitely be interested in the “grandfather skateboard” boards, not to mention the “old school” fashion, expressed in many attributes of the street lifestyle.

IMG_2896

What are your plans for the development of the USSR Skate Museum? Do you see a day when anyone can visit it?

Plans-plans... Stationary premises of the required area, where we can deploy both a permanent exhibition and hold thematic exhibitions and specialized events, financial support from interested organizations and individuals and, as a result, a great opening of the first ever “USSR Skateboarding Museum”!

LEAVE AN ANSWER

Enter your comment
Your name

Скейт-музей СССР

 Скейт-музей СССР

Сегодня мы расскажем вам не о типичной минской достопримечательности, а скорее о необычной коллекции, переросшей в настоящей музей. Глеб Бенциовский – руководитель Минской скейтборд школы Destroyer, скейтер с огромным стажем и человек, своими силами собравший скейт-музей СССР.

Глеб, как начинался твой проект «Скейт-Музей СССР», откуда появилась идея и как давно он существует?

Идея родилась давно, на рубеже 2004-2005 годов. Суть ее заключалась в том, чтобы дать возможность молодым и подрастающим скейтерам того периода (уже достаточно далеким даже от «первой волны» пост-советского скейтбординга) увидеть «корни» нашего, еще «Советского» скейтбординга, показав, с чего все начиналось. Очень сложно по-настоящему полюбить то, истории чего не знаешь, даже несмотря на всю развитость скейт-индустрии.

IMG_2962

Первой доской в коллекции (как это не символично) стал легендарный РПОМ с «низами» от тайваньской «рыбы», а позднее, покопавшись в «лабазах», я извлек на свет еще несколько артефактов. Друзья, «друзья друзей» и просто люди «со стажем» по мере возможности, помогали. Изначально, я планировал собрать воедино лишь доски, которые пользовались популярностью в среде скейтеров Советского Союза, но, тема оказалась гораздо глубже…

Так, 10 лет назад, летом 2005 года, родилась и сформировалась концепция «скейт-Музея СССР».

IMG_2902
Сколько всего представлено экспонатов и какой период охватывает коллекция?

На сегодняшний день, в «Скейт-Музее СССР» экспонируется 102 скейтборда, еще несколько скейтбордов ждут доставку в Минск. Все скейтборды – уникальны, оригинальны и условно разделены на три подгруппы: скейтборды производства СССР, самодельные скейтборды, комплектующие и скейтборды иностранного производства, магическим образом попадавшие на территорию СССР.

Если говорить о скейтбордах производства СССР, на которых сделан основной акцент, все они попадают в коллекцию путем определения уникальности комплектации подвесками и колесами, в соответствии с имеющейся документацией и информацией. Например, если деки одной модели  не отличаются размерами, а только цветом покраски (закончилась на заводе зеленая – будем окрашивать  желтой), но, все комплектующие –идентичны, такой скейтборд идет в резерв, а, если модель отличается комплектацией (например, изменение завода-поставщика, или модели колес), или, как в случае с ленинградскими «Виражами» – составом и цветом используемого пластика деки – конечно попадают в основную коллекцию.

Что касается «самоделок» – это просто рай для коллекционера, ведь, каждый самодельный скейтборд уникален по умолчанию. Иностранные доски – тоже предмет гордости.

IMG_2899

Мне, например, приятно видеть  в коллекции  оригинальный стафф от Powell-Peralta, Gullwing, Tracker, Gordon & Smith, первую промодель Майка Валлели от World Industries, или «именную» доску первого европейского райдера Santa Cruz – Клауса Грабке, не говоря уже о «рыбе» Эдди Ритегуи от Alva skates с применением «slick»-технологии, или нескольких настоящих пластбордов из 70-ых, в том числе и культовый California Free Former.

Что уж говорить о «малютках»: первом немецком RollBrettl, или американском Zippies Surf Board, прямиком из 60-ых.

IMG_2900

Советский скейтбординг хоть и имел собственную историю, но, как ни крути, он бы не появился, не будь на то «заокеанских» предпосылок. Помимо скейтбордов, собрано большое количество уникальных артефактов, архивных фото- и видео-материалов.

IMG_2881

В «бумажной» составляющей «Скейт-Музея СССР» представлены как оригиналы, так и копии чертежей для самостоятельного изготовления скейтбордов, самоучители, специализированные издания, афиши и сувениры с соревнований, тематические журналы, выпускавшиеся в РСФСР, Украинской ССР, Латвийской ССР, интересные материалы из республиканских и всесоюзных газет и журналов и даже паспорта скейтбордов. «Дочерней темой» можно считать богатый архив первых пост-советских журналов, «изюминкой» которого можно считать подборку саратовских «Скейт-Новостей», коллекцию книг по истории мирового скейтбординга и зарубежных профильных печатных изданий.

IMG_2895

В музее представлены экспонаты периода конца 70-ых – начало 90-ых. Полагаясь на информацию из первоисточников, можно сказать, что первые скейтборды стали производиться в советской Эстонии примерно в 1978 году, а СССР юридически перестал существовать в конце 1991 года – отсюда период. Но, еще до начала массового промышленного производства скейтбордов  в СССР (начало-середина 80-х годов прошлого века), информация о диковинных «Асфальтовых сёрферах» и «Скатах» уже появлялась на страницах молодежных журналов, а отдельные счастливчики даже могли попробовать прокатиться на роликовых досках, привезенных из-за рубежа, либо, попробовать изготовить их самостоятельно.

Первая доска появилась под моими ногами в 1988 году, и это было время расцвета «второй волны» советского скейтбординга.

IMG_2910

Перестройка немного приоткрыла «железный занавес» и появилась возможность  получать информацию, в том числе и от иностранных туристов (например, в 1988 году в пионерском лагере под Минском, благодаря хорошему знанию английского языка, я был в одном международном отряде с голландцами, один из которых – Серж, был скейтером, любил тяжелую музыку и привез с собой несколько журналов…).

IMG_2936

После «развала СССР», его отголоски в виде продававшихся в Спорттоварах скейтбордов, либо самоделок, еще напоминали о себе, но, к середине 90-х, практически, полностью исчезли в «загашниках», сменившись досками «новой школы».
IMG_2937

Каким образом ты смог собрать такую большую коллекцию?

Огромную помощь оказывают друзья, знакомые и незнакомые, но, близкие по духу люди. Я веду обширную переписку с «ключевыми»  скейтерами,  работаю с архивами. Дружу, либо, знаком со многими скейтерами «второй волны» советского скейтбординга. Благо, мы все – практически, одногодки. Путешествуя, регулярно посещаю блошиные рынки в разных городах и странах. Скейтбординг, как и музыка, не имеет границ и это подтверждалось неоднократно. Я очень хорошо знаком с Джеком Смитом – куратором Morro Bay Skateboard Museum (Калифорния, США). В его Музее есть несколько экспонатов-подарков от меня, у меня же – от него. То же самое касается и Юргена Блюмляйна, куратора наверное, единственного в Европе Berlin Skateboard Museum, с которым мы познакомились и, впоследствии, встретились, благодаря «наводке» российского «олдовика» Дениса Мархасина.

IMG_2893

Есть ли аналоги, или «Скейт-Музей СССР» – уникальный?

Скейт-музей СССР не имеет аналогов на пост-советском пространстве, как по количеству экспонатов, так и по их уникальности, хотя, отдельные энтузиасты-коллекционеры в России и на Украине появились. В том числе и благодаря моей деятельности.

IMG_2954

Проводил ли ты выставки «Скейт-Музея СССР» в других городах Беларуси, странах?

Мы дважды выставлялись в Москве, в рамках проведения выставки «Faces & Laces» и контеста 365 Practice Days. В каждый из выездов, выставка имела уникальный формат, даже в плане концепции indoor и outdoor  и оба раза вызывала широкий резонанс. Все делалось на чистейшем энтузиазме. Огромную помощь в поиске надлежащей финансовой поддержки проектов оказали Денис Мархасин и Паша Сорокин – культовые российские скейтеры 90-ых.  И это оказался по-настоящему важный опыт.

IMG_2887

В настоящее время, мы рассматриваем возможность проведения выставки в культурной столице России – Санкт-Петербурге, имеющем богатую «скейтбордическую» историю. Есть еще несколько проектов, но, они пока отложены «в долгий ящик». В Беларуси,  частности, в Минске, очень хочется провести большую и масштабную выставку. Но, пока внятных предложений не поступало. А финансировать подобные проекты из своего кармана я не могу. Я пробовал общаться с организаторами выставки «Назад в СССР», но, на момент ведения переговоров, концепция их выставки была уже сформирована, и грамотно интегрировать туда советский скейтбординг не получилось. Хотя, побывав на выставке, я остался доволен увиденным.

IMG_2951

Где находится Скейт-музей СССР? Кто может его посетить?

В настоящий момент, практически, вся экспозиция находится у нас дома. Места, конечно, уже не хватает и приходится «ужиматься». Посетить его могут лишь друзья и знакомые, и я очень благодарен супруге за понимание.

IMG_2931
С какими трудностями ты сталкиваешься по работе «Скейт-Музея СССР» и как можно их исправить?

Сложно назвать какие-то явные трудности. В первую очередь, наверно, нехватка помещения. Я несколько раз выходил с предложением в профильные организации, но, пока, к сожалению, так и не получил адекватного ответа. Так же, определенными «трудностями» наверно, можно назвать «блошиных барыг», которые, узнавая, что я хотел бы приобрести тот, или иной артефакт не просто так, а для «Скейт-Музея СССР», взвинчивают цены на свои лоты до заоблачных высот, рассчитывая на то, что меня финансирует государство, или, благотворительный фонд. С поиском архивных материалов начинают возникать трудности. Не во всех библиотеках есть интересующие меня газеты и журналы хотя бы даже для того, чтобы снять копии. Но, все трудности решаемы, если есть те, кто готов помочь! А таких людей – много! 

IMG_2905

Будет ли интересна выставка «Скейт-музея СССР» людям далеким от скейтбординга? Или это узкоспециализированная  тема?

Как показала практика проведения выездных выставок в России, целевая аудитория – очень широка. Огромное количество молодежи выросшей в СССР прошло через классические стадии: брейк, рок, скейт, вело и мото, ибо, все эти «неформальные» (как это было принято называть тогда, да и сейчас еще имеются ортодоксы с подобным лексиконом) молодежные субкультуры были достаточно близки друг другу. Вспомнить веселые времена молодости, рассматривая артефакты, узнавая то, на чем катался, будет очень интересно.

Ламбада из всех окон и Монстры Рока в Москве, турецкие свитера и «Пирамиды», или потертые джинсы не «первой молодости» в которых уже разрешают гулять и шорты-бермуды, редкое бутылочное «Жигулевское», или дорогая «Пепси». Кеды, или «лидские кроссы», кожаные перчатки без пальцев «как у Слейтера» и джинсовые куртки…  Рипо, Рула, АПОМ, Скат, Спринт, Спорт, Старт, Лидер, Виражи и Таиры, Роллинг и Зафак, Метеор и, даже ЛУАЗ. Не считая безымянных «роликовых досок для взрослых»… А сколько любви таилось в народных названиях: Тортилла, Бешеный Огурец, Рыба, Мыльница, Желтый Гроб.

IMG_2921

Нынешнее поколение скейтеров будет однозначно заинтересовано «досками-дедушками скейтбордов», не говоря уже о моде на «олдскул», выраженной во многих атрибутах уличного лайфстайла.

IMG_2896

Какие планы на развитие «Скейт-музея СССР»? Видишь ли ты день,  когда любой желающий сможет его посетить?

Планы-планы… Стационарное помещение необходимой площади, где мы сможем развернуть как постоянную экспозицию, так и проводить  тематические выставки и специализированные мероприятия, финансовая поддержка от заинтересованных организаций и лиц и, как следствие – большое открытие первого в истории «Музея Скейтбординга СССР»!

Этот день наверняка, наступит и я буду очень счастлив!
Для всех желающих посетить Скейт-музей СССР наша редакция poshyk.info сделала виртуальный тур:

автор: amatskevich
перепечатка и публикация с разрешения poshyk.info

Если вы нашли ошибку, пожалуйста, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter.

Прочитал? Поделись с друзьями!
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Author: Aliaksandr M

Отправить ответ

Оставьте первый комментарий!

уведомления
avatar
wpDiscuz

Сообщить об опечатке

Текст, который будет отправлен нашим редакторам: