The history of this place begins in the late 18th century, when high-ranking and respected citizens of the state of Pennsylvania decided to fight problems in the prison system. Eastern State Penitentiary was created as a kind of alternative to all places of detention and was called "House of Repentance", which was due to a number of factors:

  • solitary confinement in reflection
  • isolation from other prisoners
  • short time

As is often the case, things turned out quite differently in practice. Already in the process of construction, the prison became “golden” and cost almost a million dollars (early 19th century). And there was no question of solitary confinement, since in just 5 years all the cells were overcrowded.

Guard and Administration Corps
Guard and Administration Corps

To maintain the “spirit of loneliness,” the prisoners were dressed in bandages and forbidden to negotiate.

Working building and foundry
Working building and foundry

Famed writer Charles Dickens was smitten with ESP, and he didn't speak well of the Pennsylvania prison system. In his opinion, immersing convicts in solitude and forcing them to wander in the bins of their brain is a terrible punishment that breaks the psyche.

Courtyard, lookout tower.
Courtyard, lookout tower.

corpus-turma-esp

camera-esp

East Philadelphia Penitentiary was considered the most modern for its time. Already in the distant 19th century, it had a heating system, toilets, water supply and natural light in each cell, even many state institutions could not boast of such. Of course, we are not talking about lighting in the ceiling :)

alcopone camera
Al Capone's 1929 camera

One of the most notorious criminals USA - Al Copone, was a "guest" of the Philadelphia prison. He got here in 1929 for the transportation of weapons. His sentence was 12 months in a “comfortable cell”. The godfather had carved furniture, lamps and even a radio.

pcica-dead-wai-prison

eps

corridor-esp

bashnia-turma

The prison was closed in 1971, and until 1993 it was in disrepair. In 1994, the Eastern State Penitentiary in Philadelphia became a museum, which today is visited by more than 200 tourists a year.

Another legendary prison in the USA - Alcatraz in San Francisco. And for all travelers a selection useful services.

0 0 vote
Rate this article
Subscribe
notice
0 Comment
Inline feedback
View all comments

Восточная тюрьма Филадельфии - Eastern State Penitentiary (ESP)

Восточная тюрьма Филадельфии – Eastern State Penitentiary (ESP)

Восточная тюрьма Филадельфии – Eastern State Penitentiary (ESP)


История этого места начинается в конце 18 века, когда высокопоставленные и уважаемые граждане штата Пенсильвания решили бороться с проблемами в тюремной системе. Восточная тюрьма (Eastern State Penitentiary) создавалась как своего рода альтернатива всем местам заключения и получила название “Дом Покаяния”, что было обусловлено рядом факторов:

  • одиночное заключение в размышлениях о содеянном
  • изоляция от других заключенных
  • короткие сроки
Корпус охраны и администрации

Корпус охраны и администрации

Как это часто бывает, на практике все вышло совсем иначе. Уже в процессе строительства тюрьма стала “золотой” и обошлась почти в миллион долларов (начало 19 века), а про одиночное заключение не могло быть и речи, так как всего за 5 лет все камеры были переполнены. Для сохранения “духа одиночества” заключенным одевали повязки и запрещали переговоры.

Рабочий корпус и литейная

Рабочий корпус и литейная

Знаменитый писатель Чарльз Диккенс был поражен ESP, а про Пенсильванскую тюремную систему высказался не в лучшем свете. По его мнению погружать осужденных в одиночество и заставлять блуждать в закромках своего мозга – страшная кара, ломающая психику.

Внутренней двор, смотровая башня.

Внутренней двор, смотровая башня.

korpus-turma-esp




kamera-esp
Восточная тюрьма Филадельфии считалась самой современной для своего времени. В ней уже в далеком 19 веке была система отопления, туалеты, водоснабжение и естественный свет в каждой камере, даже многие госучреждения не могли похвастаться подобным. Тут речь конечно не про освещение в потолке:)

камера алькопонэ

камера Аль Капоне 1929 года

Один из самых известных преступников Америки – Аль Копоне, был “постояльцем” Филадельфийской тюрьмы. Сюда он попал в 1929 году за перевозку оружия. Его срок составил 12 месяцев в “камере с удобствами”. У крестного отца была резная мебель, лампы и даже радио.
pcica-mertvai-prison
kuhni-eps




koridor-esp
bashnia-turma

Тюрьму закрыли в 1971 году, и до 1993 года она была в запустении. В 1994 Eastern State Penitentiary в Филадельфии стала музеем, которы сегодня посещают более 200.000 туристов год.

Если вы нашли ошибку, пожалуйста, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter.

Прочитал? Поделись с друзьями!
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Автор: Aliaksandr M

Поделиться

Отправить ответ

Оставьте первый комментарий!

уведомления
avatar
wpDiscuz

Сообщить об опечатке

Текст, который будет отправлен нашим редакторам: