Many people compare Saigon Notre Dame Cathedral в Ho Chi Minh city with Paris Cathedral Notre Dame de Paris. Due to this comparison, the temple is often called Cathedral of Notre Dame de Saigon. Today it is the main center of the Christian religion, as well as a very popular place among tourists. At the time of visiting the cathedral, December 2019, the temple was under reconstruction. Therefore, most of the photos do not show the scope of the structure.

Some time ago Vietnam was an important part of the French possession or influence in the Asian region. Agree that a rather unusual picture appears before a tourist - a Parisian cathedral surrounded by scooters and humidity in the air.

To better understand why Cathedral in Saigon so similar to Notre Dame de Paris, you need to tell its brief history of creation.

The history of the construction of Notre Dame Cathedral in Ho Chi Minh City

As soon as the French colonists settled in Asia, European priests began to lead services in the southern places. The first Catholic temple in Saigon was an abandoned Buddhist temple. Some time later, in 1865, a new church was built especially for Christians.

However, due to the fragile and short-lived material (namely, wood), the church was attacked by insects. Then the Vietnamese authorities decided to build a more durable cathedral, but from stone. The work took approximately three to four years. The very first stone was laid in 1877. The fact that building materials were brought straight from France is very important.

early 1900 period, photo from saigoneer.com

The very same history of the cathedral in Saigon originates in 1876. Then the governor Marie Jules Dupre announced a competition for the creation of the best Catholic cathedral. Such a plan was very selfish on the part of France, because such a cathedral was supposed to become a symbol of the strength of Western Europe and its continuation. 

The temple was supposedly created in order to put in the shade all the Pagodas built in Vietnam and its environs.

The famous architect Jules Bourard won with his project of a Catholic cathedral, which was the embodiment of neo-Norman style with Gothic elements.

The architect took part in the construction - he actively followed the construction process.
It is worth noting that the cathedral became the tallest building in all of Saigon at that time.

See below for some tips for visiting Saigon Notre Dame Cathedral.

How to visit Notre Dame de Saigon Cathedral?

The undoubted convenience for tourists is that the cathedral is located in the center Ho Chi Minh City. Therefore, people do not even need public transport to get to this attraction (except if you are staying far from the center). Cathedral in Saigon is included in everything main city tours.

For a better orientation, it is useful to know the stops that are nearby. For example, stop Diamond Plaza. It is exactly perpendicular to the center of the same name. This is the eighteenth route. The symbolic name of the stop is "Sobor". It is logical to assume that it is located next to the cathedral itself. It can be reached by the following buses: 30, 49 and 36.

How does Notre Dame Saigon Cathedral in Ho Chi Minh City work?

Normal opening hours: 06:00 – 20:00. Opening hours may vary on holidays, or due to technical work on the restoration of the cathedral. However, the schedule can change, so before you go, it is better to find out in advance what time the visit is allowed. Entrance to the service is free.

My advice is to arrive as early as possible if you want to look inside the cathedral. The place is extremely visited, there are many tourists. If possible, visit the Cathedral of Notre Dame de Saigon also in the evening, it looks very different.

Why is this cathedral of such interest?

• right in front of the cathedral is a four-meter figure of the Virgin Mary. It is a symbol of the spread of the Christian religion. In addition, at the feet of the saint lies a box in which visitors put prayers or requests written on paper;

• 6 bells controlled remotely. Each of the bells sounds according to a specific note. Only two bells sound on weekdays, and three on weekends. But during the holidays you can hear the sound of all six bells. Their sound is heard at a very great distance;

• during the service, visitors can hear the choir, as well as the organ;

• Another specific element is that there are no candles in the temple. That is, the cathedral is completely electrically powered.

So, that's all the brief information about the beautiful Saigon Notre Dame Cathedral. It is also important to note that Vietnam can be visited in winter. Read also: Mekong Delta review and tour.

LEAVE AN ANSWER

Enter your comment
Your name

Собор Сайгонской Богоматери в городе Хошимин (Сайгон)

Многие сравнивают собор Сайгонской Богоматери в городе Хошимин с парижским собором Нотр Дам де Пари. Благодаря такому сравнению храм часто называют Собор Нотр Дам де Сайгон. На сегодняшний момент – это главный центр христианской религии, а также очень популярное место посещения среди туристов. На момент посещения собора, декабрь 2019 года, храм находился на реконструкции. Поэтому большая часть фото не показывают размах сооружения.

Какое-то время назад Вьетнам был важной частью Французского владения или влияния на азиатском регионе. Согласитесь, что довольно необычная картина предстаёт перед туристом – парижский собор в окружении скутеристов и витающей в воздухе влажностью.

Для более полного понимания, почему собор в Сайгоне так похож на Нотр Дам де Пари, нужно рассказать его краткую историю создания.

История строительства собора Нотр Дам в Хошимине

Как только французские колонисты обосновались в Азии, европейские священники стали вести службы в южных местах. Первым храмом для католиков в Сайгоне стал заброшенный буддийский храм. Спустя какое-то время, в 1865 году, специально для христиан построили новую церковь.

Однако из-за непрочного и недолговечного материла (а именно из дерева) церковь подвергалась нападению насекомых. Затем вьетнамские власти решили всё-таки построить более прочный собор, но уже из камня. Работы заняли приблизительно три-четыре года. А самый первый камень был заложен ещё в 1877 году. Очень важен тот факт, что строительные материалы привозились прямиком из Франции.

период начала 1900, фото сайта saigoneer.com

Сама же история собора в Сайгоне берет начало в 1876 году. Тогда губернатор Мари-Жюль Дюпре объявил конкурс на создание самого лучшего католического собора. Такой замысел был весьма эгоистичным со стороны Франции, потому что подобный собор должен был стать символом силы Западной Европы и её продолжением. 

Храм по идее создавался для того, чтобы убрать в тень все Пагоды, построенные во Вьетнаме и его окрестностях.

Победил известный архитектор Жюль Бурар со своим проектом католического собора, который был воплощением неонорманского стиля с элементами готики.

Архитектор принимал участие в строительстве – активно следил за процессом стройки.
Стоит отметить, что собор стал самой высокой постройкой во всём Сайгоне на тот момент.

Ниже можно увидеть некоторые советы по посещению собора Сайгонской Богоматери.

Как посетить Собор Нотр Дам де Сайгон?

Несомненным удобством для туристов является то, что собор находится в центре Хошимина. Поэтому людям даже не нужен общественный транспорт чтобы добраться до данной достопримечательности (исключение если вы остановились далеко от центра). Собор в Сайгоне входит во все основные экскурсии по городу.

Для лучшего ориентира полезно знать остановки, которые находятся поблизости. Например, остановка Diamond Plaza. Она находится в точности перпендикулярно центру с таким же названием. Это восемнадцатый маршрут. Символичное название остановки «Собор». Логично предположить, что она находится рядом с самим собором. До неё можно доехать на следующих автобусах: 30, 49 и 36.

Как работает Собор Сайгонской Богоматери в Хошимине?

Обычное время работы: 06:00 – 20:00. Время работы может меняться в праздничные дни, либо по причинам технических работ по реставрации собора. Однако расписание может меняться, поэтому прежде чем идти, лучше заранее узнать, во сколько разрешено посещение. Вход на службу свободный.

Мой совет – приезжать как можно раньше, если хотите заглянуть во внутрь собора. Место крайне посещаемое, туристов много. При возможности посетите Собор Нотр дам де Сайгон также вечером, выглядит совсем иначе.

Почему же данный собор вызывает такой интерес?

• прямо перед собором стоит четырёхметровая фигура Девы Марии. Она является символом распространения христианской религии. К тому же у ног святой лежит ящик, в который посетители кладут молитвы или просьбы, написанные на бумаге;

• 6 колоколов, которые управляются дистанционно. Каждый из колоколов звучит согласно конкретной ноте. В будни звучат только два колокола, а по выходным уже три. Но во время праздников можно услышать звучание всех шести колоколов. Звук их слышен на очень большом расстоянии;

• во время службы посетители могут услышать хор, а также игру органа;

• ещё одним специфическим элементом является то, что в храме нет свечей. То есть собор полностью на электрическом обеспечении.

Итак, вот и вся краткая информация о прекрасном Сайгонском соборе Богоматери. Важно ещё отметить именно то, что Вьетнам можно посетить и в зимний период.

Если вы нашли ошибку, пожалуйста, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter.

0 0 голос
Article Rating
Подписаться
уведомления
0 Комментарий
Inline Feedbacks
Посмотреть все комментарии