In the very center of Minsk, opposite October Square, there is an ancient park - Alexandrovsky Square, where you can see the first city fountain - “Boy with a Swan”. The place is iconic for the capital, rich in a variety of stories and legends, and has also been preserved within its original borders and even with its old name. The formation of this city park began back in 1836, but it is precisely as Alexander Square that has been known since 1872. It is believed that the name of the park is associated with Alexander Nevsky’s chapel, which was located right at today’s entrance.

Alexandrovsky Square in Minsk

Alyaksandraski Square
pashtouka 1918 with kalektsy Aliaksandr Likhadzedav

The chapel had so-called Russian-Byzantine architecture and was built in 1869. The building was demolished in 1929, which is quite sad; in its last years the building was used for the needs of a newsstand. On the old postcard below (1930) this chapel no longer exists, and the functions of a newsstand are now performed by a new stall.

Alexandrovsky Square in Minsk
pashtouka 1930, from Kalektsy Alexander Likhadzedav

The boy with a swan fountain appeared in the park in 1874 and immediately created a sensation. Well, how could it be otherwise, because this was the very first fountain in Minsk, and it was launched by the way in honor of the opening of the city water supply.

Fonta Boy with a Swan

Where did the idea for such an unusual sculpture come from? There are many mentions that the project is based on the works of the Italian Giovanni Bernini. Perhaps this is what Theodore Kalida did, who in 1833 made his first sculpture, “Boy with a Swan. Yes, yes, you were not mistaken, there are many similar compositions around the world, in Poland, Germany, Italy, the USA and other countries.

The oldest fountain in Minsk
2 old pashtouki times

The Minsk fountain is unique in that it was able to survive the major redevelopment of the city, when many old buildings were destroyed. There was a plan to replace the sculpture of a boy with a swan with a more understandable idea - a collective farmer with a worker. There is also an interesting story with the bronze figurines of frogs, which appeared and then disappeared. Of course, over such a long history, it also went to the swan, whose neck was broken more than once. So in 1981, after further damage, the composition was restored by the famous architect Zaire Azgur.

Alyaksandraўski park cotton with a swan

The 90s became a strange time for Alexander Square and took place under a different name - “Panikovka”, a place where young people, informals, musicians, and various marginalized people gathered. The last reconstruction of the fountain took place in 2016, when the frogs returned to their place, and the park itself was dramatically transformed. Below is a dot marking this city attraction:

Look 15 pictures of old and new Minsk.

5 1 vote
Rate this article
Subscribe
notice
0 Comment
Inline feedback
View all comments

В самом центре Минска, напротив Октябрьской площади, размещается старинный парк – Александровский сквер, где можно увидеть первый городской фонтан – “Мальчик с лебедем”. Место для столицы знаковое, богатое на самые разные истории и легенды, к тому же сохранилось в своих первоначальных границах и даже со старым названием. Формирование этого городского парка началось ещё в 1836 году, однако именно как Александровский сквер известен с 1872 года. Считается что название парка связано с капличкой Александра Невского, которая находилась как раз на сегодняшнем входе.

Александровский сквер в Минске

Аляксандраўскі сквер
паштоўка 1918 года з калекцыі Аляксандра Ліхадзедава

Часовня имела так называемую русско-византийскую архитектуру и была построена в 1869 году. Снесли постройку в 1929 году, что довольно печально, последние свои года капличку использовали под нужды газетного киоска. На старой открытке ниже (1930 год) уже нет этой часовни, а функции газетного киоска выполняет уже новый ларек.

Александровский сквре в Минске
паштоўка 1930 года, з калекцыі Аляксандра Ліхадзедава

Фонтан мальчик с лебедем появился в сквере в 1874 году и сразу произвел фурор. Ну а как иначе, ведь это был самый первый фонтан в Минске, а запустили его кстати в честь открытия городского водопровода.

Фонта Мальчичк с ледебедем

Откуда взялась идея такой необычной скульптуры? Есть много упоминаний что за основу проекта взяты работы итальянца Джованни Бернини. Возможно так и сделал Теодор Калида, который в 1833 году изготовил первую свою скульптуру “Мальчик с лебедем. Да-да, вы не ошиблись, подобных композиций по всему миру много, есть в Польше, Германии, Италии, США и других странах.

Самый старый фонтан в Минске
2 старых паштоўкі разам

Минский фонтан уникален и тем что смог пережить капитальную перапланировку города, когда многие старые здания разрушались. Был план заменить и скульптуру мальчика с лебедем на более понятную идею – колхозница с рабочем. Интересна история и с бронзавами фигурками лягушек, которые то появлялись, то исчезали. Конечно досталась за такую долгую историю и лебедю, которому не раз обламывали шею. Так в 1981 году, после очередного нанесенного ущерба, композицию восстанавливал известный архитектор Заир Азгур.

Аляксандраўскі сквер хлопчык з лебедзем

90-ые для Александровского сквера стали странным временем и проходили под другим названием – “Паниковка”, местом где собиралась молодежь, неформалы, музыканты, ну и различные маргиналы. Последняя реконструкция фонтана прошла в 2016 году, тогда на место вернулись лягушки, а сам парк разительно преобразился. Ниже точка с отметкой этой достопримечательности города:

Посмотрите 15 снимков старого и нового Минска.

5 1 голос
Оцените статью
Подписаться
уведомления
0 Комментарий
Inline Feedbacks
Посмотреть все комментарии