Just 30 kilometers from Vilnius is Medininkai Castlewho remembers the times of the Grand Dukes of Lithuania. Letters written by Vytautas the Great came from here, and Casimir Jagiellonchik spent many summers here. And yet the main function of the castle was a defensive function - built in the XIV century. the stone Medininkai castle was the largest quadrangular fenced castle in Lithuania.

Surviving great times and reflecting more than one battle castle in Medininkai lost its significance at the end of the XNUMXth century, after a fire destroyed it.

For many years the castle complex was abandoned, but in 2012 its second life began. Today there is a museum in Medininkai Castle, as many as 4 expositions are waiting for visitors, educational programs are held for schoolchildren and adults.

Defensive castle and summer residence

Now the castle is located near the border with Belarus. In this place, he did not appear by chance. It was a strategic point protecting the Grand Duchy of Lithuania and its capital Vilnius from aggression from the east, attacks by the Order of the Crusaders and the Livonian Order. To make it more difficult for enemies to approach the castle, it was built in a swampy area, and its walls were surrounded by wide and deep defensive ditches.

Half a kilometer long, 15 meters high and almost 2 meters thick, the castle walls are another guarantee of good defense. To monitor the enemy, four towers were erected in different corners of the walls, of which the highest is a 30-meter donjon. It controlled the actions of the defense, watched who enters the castle gates.

On the upper floors of the donjon, the walls are decorated with paintings by artists - there were living quarters here. The castle served as a summer residence for Casimir Jagiellon. He did not want to take the children to the noisy capital, so he brought four sons to Medininkai - Jan Albrecht, Alexander, Sigismund and Casimir.

The second life of the castle

Despite the excellent defensive system, in 1402 the Medininkai Castle suffered during the siege of the Crusaders. At the end of the XV century. it was almost destroyed by a fire, after which the castle did not recover and was no longer restored.

For some time, the Medininkai castle was given into the possession of Prince Vasily Zhilinsky, but he almost did not care about him. In 1812, the fortress was practically razed to the ground by Napoleon's army retreating from Russia.

In the interwar period, Medininkai was part of the Vilnius region occupied by Poland - the town was returned to Lithuania in 1939. After the war, the castle was mothballed, archaeological and architectural research was carried out in it, but a new stage in the life of the Medininkai castle began only after the restoration of Lithuanian statehood.

Work on the restoration and restoration of the castle was carried out gradually, and yet today the fortress is already adapted for tourism, museum and educational activities.

There are exposition halls in the castle donjon: here you can get acquainted with stone castles, the weapons of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, see the exhibited cannons, shells and other archaeological finds.

The church stood in the time of Vytautas

Not far from the Medininkai Castle, which remembers the times of the princes, you can visit several other interesting objects. The fortress, built on a plain, contrasts interestingly with the second largest hill in Lithuania, Juozapine, which rises only 3 kilometers from the castle. In the Juozapinsky geomorphological reserve, you can also see the highest point in Lithuania - the Aukštojas (High) hill.

Very close to Medininkai Castle is a beautiful wooden church Pr. Trinity and St. Casimir. The parish church in the town of Medininkai was already in 1391, and the Grand Duke of Lithuania Vytautas even founded a monastery nearby. However, under the pressure of the constant raids of the crusaders, these buildings did not stand for long.

The modern three-nave church with one tower was built in the interwar period - it received the name of St. Casimir, and nearby the Franciscan monastery of St. Casimir. Opposite the church, a wooden bell tower was built in the same style - the ringing of the bell reminds the locals when to go to a regular service, and when to a festive one.

0 0 vote
Rate this article
Subscribe
notice
1 Comment
the old
New most +
Inline feedback
View all comments
Gogolson
Gogolson
5 years ago

A similar project to the castle in Krevo and Lida.

Мядининкайский замок – современник Великого княжества Литовского

Всего в 30 километрах от Вильнюса стоит Мядининкайский замок, который помнит времена великих князей Литовских. Отсюда шли написанные Витаутасом Великим письма, здесь не одно лето провел Казимир Ягеллончик. И всё же основной функцией замка была оборонительная функция – построенный в XIV в. каменный Мядининкайский замок был крупнейшим  четырехугольным оградным замком в Литве.

Переживший великие времена и отразивший не одно сражение замок в Мядининкай потерял свое значение в конце XV в., после уничтожившего его пожара.

Долгие годы замковый комплекс был заброшен, но в 2012 г. началась его вторая жизнь. Сегодня в Мядининкайском замке действует музей, посетителей ждут целых 4 экспозиции, для школьников и взрослых проводятся образовательные программы.

Оборонительный замок и летняя резиденция

Сейчас замок находится недалеко от границы с Беларусью. В этом месте он появился не случайно. Это был стратегический пункт, защищающий Великое княжество Литовское и его столицу Вильнюс от агрессии с востока, нападений ордена Крестоносцев и Ливонского ордена. Чтобы врагам было сложнее подойти к замку, он был возведен в болотистой местности, а его стены опоясывали широкие и глубокие оборонительные рвы.

Длиной в полкилометра, высотой 15 метров и почти 2 метровой толщины стены замка – еще один гарант хорошей обороны. Для наблюдения за врагом в разных углах стен были возведены четыре башни, из которых самая высокая – 30 метровый донжон. С него контролировались действия обороны, наблюдали, кто входит в замковые ворота.

На верхних этажах донжона стены украшены живописными работами художников – здесь были жилые помещения. Замок служил летней резиденцией для Казимира Ягеллончика. Он не хотел везти детей в шумную столицу, поэтому привозил четырех сыновей в Мядининкай – Яна Альбрехта, Александра, Сигизмунда и Казимира.

Вторая жизнь замка

Несмотря на прекрасную оборонительную систему, в 1402 г. Мядининкайский замок пострадал во время осады крестоносцев. В конце XV в. его почти разрушил пожар, после которого замок не оправился и уже не восстанавливался.

На некоторое время Мядининкайский замок было отдан во владение князю Василию Жилинскому, однако тот почти не заботился о нем. В 1812 г. крепость была практически снесена с лица земли отступающей из России армией Наполеона.

В межвоенный период Мядининкай входил в состав оккупированного Польшей Вильнюсского края – Литве городок был возвращен в 1939 г. После войны замок был законсервирован, в нем проводились археологические и архитектурные исследования, однако новый этап в жизни Мядининкайского замка начался только после восстановления государственности Литвы.

Работы по восстановлению и реставрации замка проводились постепенно, и всё же сегодня крепость уже приспособлена для туризма, музейной и образовательной деятельности.

В донжоне замка устроены экспозиционные залы: здесь можно познакомиться с каменными замками, вооружением Великого княжества Литовского, осмотреть выставляемые пушки, снаряды и другие археологические находки.

Костел стоял еще во времена Витаутаса

Недалеко от помнящего времена князей Мядининкайского замка можно посетить и несколько  других интересных объектов. Крепость, построенная на равнине, интересно контрастирует со вторым по величине в Литве холмом Юозапине, который высится всего в 3 километрах от замка. В Юозапинском геоморфологическом заказнике можно увидеть и самую высокую точку в Литве – холм Аукштояс (Высокий).

Совсем рядом с Мядининкайским замком находится красивый деревянный костел Пр. Троицы и св. Казимира. Приходской костел в городке Мядининкай был уже в 1391 г., а великий князь Литовский Витаутас рядом даже учредил монастырь. Однако под напором постоянных набегов крестоносцев эти здания простояли недолго.

Современный трехнефный с одной башней костел был построен в межвоенный период – он получил имя св. Казимира, а рядом был учрежден францисканский монастырь св. Казимира. Напротив костела построена и деревянная колокольня в том же стиле – местным жителям звон колокола напоминает, когда идти на обычную службу, а когда на праздничную.

1
Отправить ответ

avatar
1 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
1 Comment authors
Гогольсон Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
новые старые больше всего +
уведомления
Гогольсон
Гость
Гогольсон

Похожий проект на замок в Крево и Лиде.