On the picturesque route along the banks of the Nemunas - revived Lithuanian manors

We are starting a cycle of materials on interesting places and attractions in Lithuania with the support of the didikulietuva.lt project. We have already written about the capital and popular destinations, so now we are moving inland and talking about what else is worth seeing in the neighboring country.

Stretching almost 90 km from the city Kaunas to the town of Jurbarkas, the path along Prinemanya (lit. Panemune) is well known to Lithuanian travelers. On the left side of the Nemunas bend, and on the right - a chain of hillforts, castles and manors - all this creates one of the most beautiful routes in the country.

The castles of Prynemanya (lit. Panemune), which once repelled more than one attack of the crusaders, later became the majestic residences of the Lithuanian nobility. Today in the restored estates Nemunas you can get acquainted with the rich culture of Lithuanian manors, visit historical expositions and take a walk in parks that remember the times of the nobles.

Raudondvaris Palace - the merit of the counts Tyszkiewicz

Traveling through the estates of Prynemanya (Panyamune) is worth starting from Raudondvaris. The town, located not far from Kaunas, got its name, most likely, from the red-brick walls of the manor palace rising here. Known since the XNUMXth century. the manor belonged to different owners, but still owes its present appearance to the counts Tyszkiewicz.

In 1825, Count Benedict Emmanuel Tyszkiewicz, known for his passion for travel and hunting, received Raudondvaris Manor (Red Manor) as a wedding present. In 1831, he rebuilt the estate, which had been damaged by fire. The count decorated the interior of the house with cutlery from Germany and America, English porcelain and Dutch linen, and the distinguished guests could taste dishes from the game caught by the count, drink sumptuous French wines and Chinese tea.

The pride of Raudondvaris is a beautiful greenhouse, which in the time of Tyszkiewicz was famous for its unique collection of citrus trees and other exotic plants. Even today you can see one of the oldest palm trees in Lithuania, planted by the Count himself.

Tourists who want to plunge into the atmosphere of those times can dine in a restaurant opened in the former greenhouse or take a walk in the recently restored park. As in the old days, in the summer, visitors to the estate are pleased with the unique aroma of roses and lavender.

Centuries-old Panemun Castle

Approximately 60 kilometers from Raudondvaris - Panyamun castlewith 400 years of history. The wooden house standing here was bought in 1597 by a landowner of Hungarian origin, Janusz Eperjes. With the help of an experienced Dutch architect and a kind friend Peter Nongarth the new owner decided to build a stone castle in the Renaissance style.

Time passed, the owners of the Pänemunsky manor changed, and the castle was restored and rebuilt more than once. In the XVIII century. the castle complex was bought by the standard-bearer of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania Antanas Gialgaudas. Next to the castle, he laid out a park of thirteen hectares, which has survived to this day. Two ponds were restored in the park, and an observation deck with a view of the Nemunas was equipped. Not only distinguished guests, but also local residents could admire the deer running in the park.

Today, life in the Panemun Castle is again in full swing due to the joint efforts of museum workers and entrepreneurs. Visitors will find not only a historical exposition and a well-groomed park, but also a luxurious hotel with a restaurant. Guests of the castle, like real nobles, can spend the night in rooms furnished with antique furniture of the XNUMXth-XNUMXth centuries, as well as taste dishes prepared according to old Lithuanian and Hungarian recipes.

Heritage of Russian princes in the town of Jurbarkas

The route along the banks of the Nemunas (Panemune) ends with an interesting history Yurbar manor. Located here in the XIV century. the estate was owned by Bona Sforza, the wife of the Grand Duke of Lithuania Sigismund II, later - the nobles Radziwill, after them - the favorite of Empress Catherine II Platon Zubov. Since 1845, the estate passed to Prince Illarion Vasilyevich Vasilchikov, whose descendants ruled here until the First World War.

The Vasilchikovs rarely came to Jurbarkas, but they were engaged in the affairs of the estate all year round. The landowners were known as excellent entrepreneurs: they equipped a sawmill, a brewery, developed the production of butter and cheese. Bakstein and Dutch cheeses made in Jurbarkas were even exported to France, and the town itself prospered.

The house of the Jurbarka Manor has not survived to this day, but visitors can see the elegant Orthodox church built under Zubov, a park spread on the banks of the Mituva River, two houses for servants, and several other preserved manor buildings.

The servants of the manor lived in the servants' house on the south side - today the Jurbarkas Tourist Information Center operates here. The local museum is located in the northern servants' house, where you can get acquainted with the history of the city of Jurbarkas.

0 0 vote
Rate this article
Subscribe
notice
0 Comment
Inline feedback
View all comments

На живописном маршруте по берегам Нямунаса – ожившие литовские усадьбы

У нас стартует цикл материалов по интересным местам и достопримечательностям Литвы при поддержке проекта didikulietuva.lt. Мы уже писали о столице и популярных направлениях, поэтому сейчас двигаемся вглубь страны и рассказываем о том, что ещё стоит увидеть в соседней стране.

Протянувшийся почти на 90 км от города Каунас до городка Юрбаркас путь по Принеманью (лит. Панямуне) неплохо известен литовским путешественникам. С левой стороны излучины Нямунаса, а с правой – цепочка городищ, замков и поместных усадеб – всё это создает один из красивейших маршрутов в стране.

Когда-то отразившие не одно нападение крестоносцев замки Принеманья (лит. Панямуне) в более позднее время стали величественными резиденциями литовской знати. Сегодня в восстановленных усадьбах у Нямунаса можно ознакомиться с богатой культурой литовских усадеб, посетить исторические экспозиции и погулять по паркам, помнящим времена вельмож.

Дворец Раудондварис – заслуга графов Тышкевичей

Путешествие по усадьбам Принеманья (Панямуне) стоит начать с Раудондвариса. Расположенный недалеко от Каунаса городок получил свое название, скорее всего, от высящихся здесь стен усадебного дворца из красного кирпича. Известная с XVII в. усадьба принадлежала разным владельцам, но всё же своим теперешним внешним видом обязана графам Тышкевичам.

В 1825 г. граф Бенедикт Эммануэль Тышкевич, известный своей страстью к путешествиям и охоте, получил поместье Раудондварис (Красное поместье) в качестве подарка к свадьбе. В 1831 г. он отстроил усадьбу, пострадавшую от пожара. Граф украсил интерьер дома столовыми приборами из Германии и Америки, английским фарфором и голландским бельем, а почтенные гости могли отведать блюда из пойманной графом дичи, пить роскошные французские вина и китайский чай.

Гордость Раудондвариса – красивая оранжерея, которая во времена Тышкевичей славилась уникальной коллекцией цитрусовых деревьев и других экзотических растений. Еще и сегодня можно увидеть одну из старейших в Литве, посаженную еще самим графом пальму.

Туристы, которые хотят окунуться в атмосферу тех времен, могут пообедать в открытом в бывшей оранжерее ресторане или погулять по не так давно восстановленному парку. Как и в старину, летом посетителей усадьбы радует неповторимый аромат роз и лаванды.

Живущий столетия Панямунский замок

Приблизительно в 60 километрах от Раудондвариса – Панямунский замок, насчитывающий 400-летнюю историю. Стоящий здесь деревянный дом в 1597 г. купил помещик венгерского происхождения Януш Эперьеш. С помощью опытного голландского архитектора и доброго приятеля Петера Нонгарта новый владелец решил возвести каменный замок в стиле Ренессанс.

Время шло, владельцы Пянямунского поместья менялись, а замок не раз реставрировался и перестраивался. В XVIII в. замковый комплекс купил знаменосец ВКЛ Антанас Гялгаудас. Рядом с замком он разбил парк площадью тринадцать гектаров, который сохранился до наших дней. В парке были восстановлены два пруда, оборудована обзорная площадка с видом на Нямунас. Полюбоваться на бегающих в парке ланей могли не только знатные гости, но и местные жители.

Сегодня жизнь в Панямунском замке снова кипит общими стараниями музейщиков и предпринимателей. Посетителей ждет не только историческая экспозиция и ухоженный парк, но и роскошная гостиница с рестораном. Гости замка, как настоящие вельможи, могут переночевать в комнатах, обставленных антикварной мебелью XVIII-XIX вв., а также отведать блюда, приготовленные по старинным литовским и венгерским рецептам.

Наследие российских князей в городке Юрбаркас

Маршрут по берегам Нямунаса (Панемуне) завершает имеющая интересную историю Юрбарская усадьба. Расположенным здесь в XIV в. поместьем владела Бона Сфорца, жена Великого князя Литовского Сигизмунда II, позднее – вельможи Радзивиллы, после них – фаворит императрицы Екатерины II Платон Зубов. С 1845 г. поместье отошло к князю Иллариону Васильевичу Васильчикову, чьи потомки хозяйничали здесь до Первой мировой войны.

Васильчиковы редко приезжали в Юрбаркас, однако делами имения занимались круглый год. Помещики были известны как прекрасные предприниматели: оборудовали лесопилку, пивоварню, развивали производство масла и сыра. Изготовленные в Юрбаркасе «бакштейнские» и «голландские» сыры экспортировали даже во Францию, да и сам городок процветал.

До наших дней дом Юрбаркского поместья не сохранился, однако посетители могут осмотреть построенную при Зубове нарядную православную церковь, раскинувшийся на берегах реки Митува парк, два дома для слуг, несколько других сохранившихся усадебных построек.

В доме для слуг с южной стороны жили слуги поместья – сегодня здесь работает Центр туристической информации Юрбаркаса. В северном доме для слуг расположился музей края, в котором можно ознакомиться с историей города Юрбаркас.


Отправить ответ

avatar
  Subscribe  
уведомления