Curonian Spit and sights in Klaipeda

We have already talked about our travels in Vilnius и Kaunas, as well as many others sights of Lithuania. But they bypassed the unique natural landmark of this country. Let's fix it and let's talk about curonian spit. Many, of course, have heard about it and know that it originates in Klaipeda and stretches for almost 100 km to the Kaliningrad region. The Curonian Spit is a narrow sandy strip of land separating the Baltic Sea and the Curonian Lagoon. Not so long ago, in 2000, this object was included in the list UNESCO World Heritage Site. In addition, there are many things to see and do in Klaipeda. But first things first.

    1. The Curonian Spit
    2. How to get to Klaipeda from Minsk
    3. How to get to the Curonian Spit
    4. Where to stay in Klaipeda
    5. Klaipeda attractions

curonian spit

What is unique about the Curonian Spit

In essence, The Curonian Spit - a peninsula formed during a long sand embankment. In general, this is a national park, a one-time entrance to which costs 1 euro, visit for a month - 5 euro. Sections of the spit are of different widths - from 400 meters to almost 4 km. On it you can find not only sand dunes - two-thirds of the territory is occupied by forests with unusually growing trees and unique flora and fauna, there are species listed in the Red Book.

How to get to Klaipeda

The most budget option a train. There is no direct route from Minsk. There is a train to Vilnius, a ticket will cost from 11 euros. In Vilnius, you will take a train to Klaipeda, for a seat in which you will pay from 15 euros. The whole journey will take about 9 hours.

There is no direct bus service between cities. You can drive to Vilnius or Kaunas by bus Ecolines or Busfor for 10-14 euros. And from there to get to Klaipeda. A ticket from Vilnius will cost about 22 euros, from Kaunas to Klaipeda - 15 euros.

The fastest mode of transport is aircraft. From Minsk in the summer there are flights to the neighboring city of Palanga. The flight lasts a little over an hour. A direct one-way ticket will cost 30-40 euros. From there you need to drive only 30 km. Can rent a car or buy a bus ticket for only 2,50 euros. But keep in mind that buses do not run as often as we would like. Or take a taxi - from 23 euros one way.

Another way to get to Klaipeda - own car. The distance from Minsk to the city along the E28 / M7 highways is 490 km. The journey will take 5 hours. We recommend making stops to see Lithuanian sights.

How to get to the Curonian Spit

On the Lithuanian side, the spit does not adjoin land. To get there, you have to go on a ferryboat. In total, there are two crossings in Klaipeda. The old crossing is for those who go without a car, and the New one allows you and the vehicle to be transported.

ferry crossing in klaipeda

The ferry departs approximately 1-2 times per hour. The ticket price is different and depends on how you want to get to the other side, in Smiltyne. If you are traveling without transport or by bicycle, you will pay 1 euro for the crossing. For a motorcycle or moped, you will have to pay extra and buy a ticket for 4,90 euros. Passenger cars are transported for 12,30 euros, and for a large bus you need to pay 39,40 euros.

ferry klaipeda

For current prices and schedules, check this website: keltas.lt

Where to stay in Klaipeda

Who is looking for a place to stay for the night cheaper, book place in the hostel. For example, Klaipeda Hostel, which is located next to the bus station of the city, will cost 10 euro per night in 11-bed room. A single room costs 15 euros, but the bathroom is shared.

One can book an apartment. The cost of this option is from 20 euros and more. Check out Liepu27 or Apartament Birutes.

rent a hotel in klaipeda

Great service to find the best price for hotels See here.

Where to stay on the Curonian Spit

If you want to stay in the protected area of ​​the Curonian Spit, there are many options for you. This place is considered to be an elite place for recreation, but among the offers of hotels there are very attractive and not very expensive ones.

sea ​​in klaipeda

For example, in the cold season, you can book Pusynas Apartments with kitchen, bathroom and balcony with a beautiful view for 35 euros for two. Hotels category above Vila Deva 3* or Vila Preiloja will cost 60 euros. Cozy cottages PineHouse, Prie mariu will be 10-20 euros more expensive. During the summer, accommodation prices increase.

klaipeda attractions

Sights of Klaipeda

Memel Castle, founded in 1252 from wood, has not survived. A year later, the stone castle Memel was built, which was later destroyed several times. In the 18th century, the castle was fortified for the last time, after which it lost its military significance. To this day, the towers and defensive walls have not been preserved, but the basements on the rampart have remained intact. Today, a museum of the castle and the city is open within their walls. The object is gradually being restored.

klaipeda city

Nearby, on the square, is Klaipeda Drama Theater. It will also be interesting to see the legendary sailboat “meridianas".

An unusual and interesting place to visit in Klaipeda will be Clock Museum. The exposition tells about the history of watches development and tools for their creation. Looking at an old clock in an old mansion is a good option to spend time in the city.

interesting places in klaipeda

Of the unusual sights, I would like to highlight a number of monuments and sculptures. Chimney sweeper on the roof, a cute legend and a sign about a lucky button are associated with it. Which? You will find out upon arrival :), but I advise you to grab an extra button.

chimney sweeper on the roof of klaipeda

Bronze exposition “Guardian of the Old City“. Represents a Doberman, as if coming out of the wall. small figurine little mouse – another nice monument of Klaipeda. It is also worth adding here “black ghost".

sights of klaipeda

If you arrive in the city by train, do not bypass the city sculpture park named after Martynas Mažvydas. It is located near the Klaipeda railway station.

what to see in klaipeda

Next to the park there are buildings of the 19th and 20th centuries with exhibition halls of art galleries of Pranas Domšaitis.

You may also be interested abandoned prison in Klaipeda.

What to see on the Curonian Spit

First of all, inspect the landscapes National Park "Curonian Spit". The reserve is located on the territory of the Neringa resort. From the crossing you can get to the city by your own transport or by minibuses plying from the first crossing. Clean beaches marked with the Blue Flag, the highest dunes in Europe and the purest pine air attract many vacationers.

Curonian Spit photos

The 37-km Curonian Spit is not quite ordinary. Strange trees are hiding in a seemingly unremarkable pine forest.

klaipeda spit

klaipeda

This is one of the main places where tourists go. Tree trunks are bent in different directions, and sometimes closed in a ring. The reason for this is a strong wind that bends the trunks of small fragile trees. They call this place "Dancing Forest".

forest in klaipeda

There are many on the Curonian Spit museums: Maritime Museum and Dolphinarium, Neringa Historical Museum, Ethnographic Museum, Museum of Miniature Art and Exhibition Hall of the Lithuanian Art Museum, Thomas Mann Cultural Center, Amber Museum and Herman Blod Museum.

sea ​​in klaipeda

National park in Smiltyne

The park information center is open from Tuesday to Saturday (9:00-12:00, 13:00-18:00).

National park in the resort village of Nida

The Park Information Center is open daily in summer (9:00-18:00). In May and September, open from Monday to Saturday (9:00-12:00, 12:45-18:00).

0 0 vote
Rate this article
Subscribe
notice
0 Comment
Inline feedback
View all comments

Куршская коса и достопримечательности в Клайпеде

Мы уже рассказывали о наших путешествиях по Вильнюсу и Каунасу, а также про многие другие достопримечательности Литвы. Но обошли стороной уникальную природную достопримечательность этой страны. Исправимся и расскажем о Куршской косе. Многие, конечно, слышали о ней и знают, что она берет начало в Клайпеде и тянется почти на 100 км до Калининградской области. Куршская коса – это узкая песчаная полоса земли, разделившая Балтийское море и Куршский залив. Не так давно, в 2000 году этот объект был включен в список Всемирного наследия Юнеско. Кроме того, в Клайпеде есть что посмотреть и чем заняться. Но обо всем по порядку.

    1. Куршская коса
    2. Как добраться в Клайпеду из Минска
    3. Как добраться до Куршской косы
    4. Где остановится в Клайпеде
    5. Клайпеда достопримечательности

куршская коса

Чем уникальна Куршская коса

По сути, Куршская коса – полуостров, образованный в ходе длительной насыпи песка. В целом, это национальный парк, одноразовый вход в который стоит 1 евро, посещение на месяц – 5 евро. Участки косы разной ширины – от 400 метров до почти 4 км. На ней можно найти не только песчаные дюны – две трети территории занимают леса с необычно растущими деревьями и уникальной флорой и фауной, встречаются виды, занесенные в Красную книгу.

Как добраться до Клайпеды

Самый бюджетный вариант – поезд. Из Минска прямого маршрута нет. Ходит поезд до Вильнюса, билет будет стоить от 11 евро. В Вильнюсе пересядете на поезд до Клайпеды, за место в котором заплатите от 15 евро. Весь путь займет около 9 часов.

Прямого автобусного сообщения между городами нет. Можно доехать до Вильнюса или Каунаса на автобусе Ecolines или Busfor за 10-14 евро. А оттуда добираться до Клайпеды. Из Вильнюса билет будет стоить около 22 евро, из Каунаса до Клайпеды – 15 евро.

Самый быстрый вид транспорта – самолет. Из Минска летом есть рейсы в соседний город Палангу. Длится полет чуть больше часа. Прямой билет в одну сторону обойдется в 30-40 евро. Оттуда нужно проехать всего 30 км. Можно арендовать автомобиль или купить билет на автобус всего за 2,50 евро. Но учитывайте, что автобусы ходят не так часто, как хотелось бы. Или воспользуйтесь такси – от 23 евро в одну сторону.

Еще один способ добраться до Клайпеды – собственный автомобиль. Расстояние от Минска до города по трассам Е28/М7 – 490 км. Дорога займет 5 часов. Рекомендуем сделать остановки для осмотра литовских достопримечательностей.

Как добраться до Куршской косы

С Литовской стороны коса не примыкает к суше. Чтобы туда попасть, нужно ехать на пароме. Всего в Клайпеде две переправы. Старая переправа для тех, кто отправляется без авто, а Новая позволяет переправить вас и транспортное средство.

переправа на пароме в клайпеде

Паром отправляется примерно 1-2 раза в час. Стоимость билета разная и зависит от того, на чем вы хотите добраться на другой берег, в Смильтине. Если вы путешествуете без транспорта или на велосипеде, за переправу заплатите 1 евро. За мотоцикл или мопед придется доплатить и купить билет за 4,90 евро. Легковые автомобили переправляют за 12,30 евро, а за большой автобус нужно заплатить 39,40 евро.

паром клайпеда

Актуальные цены и расписание проверяйте на этом сайте: keltas.lt.

Где остановиться в Клайпеде

Кто ищет место для ночлега подешевле, бронируйте место в хостеле. Например, Klaipeda Hostel, который находится рядом с автовокзалом города, обойдется в 10 евро за ночь в 11-местном номере. Одноместный номер стоит 15 евро, но ванная общая.

Можно забронировать апартаменты. Стоимость такого варианта от 20 евро и выше. Посмотрите апартаменты Liepu27 или Apartament Birutes.

снять отель в клайпеде

Отличный сервис для поиска лучшей цены на отели смотрите здесь.

Где остановиться на Куршской косе

Если вы хотите разместиться в заповедной зоне Куршской косы, для вас найдется много вариантов. Это место считается элитным для отдыха, но среди предложений отелей есть весьма привлекательные и не сильно бьющие по карману.

море в клайпеде

Например, в холодное время года, можно забронировать Pušynas Apartments с кухней, ванной и балконом с красивым видом за 35 евро на двоих. Отели категории выше Vila Deva 3* или Vila Preiloja обойдутся в 60 евро. Уютные котеджи PineHouse, Prie mariu будут на 10-20 евро дороже. В летний период цены на размещение повышаются.

клайпеда достопримечательности

Достопримечательности Клайпеды

Мемельский замок, основанный в 1252 году из дерева, не сохранился. Спустя год был сооружен каменный замок Мемель, который в дальнейшем несколько раз разрушался. В 18 веке замок был укреплен в последний раз, после чего утратил военное значение. До наших дней башни и оборонительные стены не сохранились, но остались целыми подвальные помещения на валу. В их стенах сегодня открыт музей замка и города. Объект постепенно восстанавливается.

город клайпеда

Неподалеку, на площади, находится Клайпедский драматический театр. Также интересно будет посмотреть легендарный парусник “Меридианас“.

Необычным и интересным местом для посещения в Клайпеде будет Музей часов. Экспозиция рассказывает об истории развития часов и инструментах по их созданию. Посмотреть на старинные часы в старом особняке – неплохой вариант провести время в городе.

интересные места в клайпеде

Из необычных достопримечательностей хочется выделить ряд памятников и скульптур. Трубочист на крыше, с ним связана милая легенда и примета о счастливой пуговице. Какая? Узнаете по приезду:), но советую захватить лишнюю пуговицу.

трубочист на крыше клайпеда

Бронзовая экспозиция “Страж Старого города“. Представляет собой добермана, как бы выходящего из стены. Фигурка небольшого мышонка – ещё один милый памятник Клайпеды. Сюда же стоит добавить и “Чёрного призрака“.

достопримечательности клайпеды

Если приедете в город на поезде, не обходите стороной городской парк скульптур имени Мартинаса Мажвидаса. Он находится недалеко от железнодорожного вокзала Клайпеды.

что посмотреть в клайпеде

Рядом с парком разместились здания 19-20 веков с выставочными залами картинной галереи Пранаса Домшайтиса. Также вам может быть интересна заброшенная тюрьма в Клайпеде.


Что посмотреть на Куршской косе

В первую очередь, осмотрите ландшафты Национального парка «Куршская коса». Находится заповедник на территории курорта Неринга. От переправы добраться до города можно на собственном транспорте или на микроавтобусах, курсирующих от первой переправы. Чистые пляжи, отмеченные Голубым флагом, самые высокие дюны в Европе и чистейший сосновый воздух привлекают немало отдыхающих.

куршская коса фото

37-км Куршской косы не совсем обычный. В непримечательном на первый взгляд сосновом бору прячутся странные деревья.

клайпеда коса

клайпеда

Это одно из главных мест, куда едут туристы. Стволы деревьев изогнуты в разные стороны, а порой замкнуты в кольцо. Причина тому – сильный ветер, выгибающий стволы небольших неокрепших деревьев. Называют это место «Танцующим лесом».

лес в клайпеде

Есть на Куршской косе немало музеев: Морской музей и дельфинариум, Исторический музей Неринги, Этнографический музей, Музей миниатюрного искусства и выставочный зал литовского художественного музея, Культурный центр Томас Манн, Музей Янтаря и Музей Германа Блода.

море в клайпеде

Национальный парк в Смильтине

Информационный центр парка работает со вторника по субботу (9:00-12:00, 13:00-18:00).

Национальный парк в курортном поселке Нида

Информационный центр парка работает летом ежедневно (9:00-18:00). В мае и сентябре открыт с понедельника по субботу (9:00-12:00, 12:45-18:00).

Если вы нашли ошибку, пожалуйста, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter.

Отправить ответ

avatar
  Подписаться  
уведомления