Away from the historical center Vitebsk there is an interesting attraction - Church of Saint Barbara. The temple was originally made in Baroque architecture, and then thoroughly rebuilt in the Neo-Romanesque style. Church in Vitebsk dated 1785. True, the appearance that can be seen today is more likely to refer to 1884-85.

Church in Vitebsk

Neo-Romanesque church in Vitebsk

At the end of the 19th century, during the reconstruction of the temple, a stone fence and a gate were erected. The church is a basilica with three naves, two tower tiers of red brick.

sights of Vitebsk
old postcard, source: globe of Belarus

Brama of the church in Vitebsk

In Soviet times, the church suffered a lot. Since 1935, the temple has been closed, and a warehouse was placed within the walls of the building. During the Second World War, the Vitebsk church was significantly destroyed, the towers were damaged. Walking around the area, you can see traces of bullets.

Traces of bullets Vitebsk church

Vitebsk church

To the right of the entrance to the church is a small chapel of the Holy Cross. It was built in 1800 (completely rebuilt in 1990). An old Catholic cemetery has also been preserved here; many burials date back to the beginning of the 19th century.

Chapel near the church in Vitebsk

Ancient cemetery in Vitebsk

Church and chapel Vitebsk

After the end of the war, Church of Saint Barbara, was abandoned for more than 40 years and continued to collapse. And just before the collapse of the USSR, there was a strange idea to rebuild the temple into a concert hall. This idea was not crowned with success and in 1993 the Vitebsk church was returned to the Catholics of the city. Until 2011, the temple was a cathedral.

Church of St. Barbara in Vitebsk

The latest reconstruction of the church added features of neo-gothic architecture to it, while retaining the neo-romanesque style.

Church of St. Barbara Vitebsk

The church is located in Vitebsk, on Leningradskaya street 27 (across the street from the Polotsk market).

What else to see in the city? Take a look at the town hall and the central cathedral, visit the old part of Vitebsk. Other sights of Belarus on the map.

LEAVE AN ANSWER

Enter your comment
Your name

В отдалении от исторического центра Витебска есть интересная достопримечательность – костел Святой Варвары. Храм изначально выполнен в архитектуре барокко, а затем основательно перестроен в неороманском стиле. Костел в Витебске датируется 1785 годом. Правда тот облик который можно увидеть сегодня скорее относится к 1884-85 годам.

Костел в Витебске

Неороманский костел в Витебске

В конце 19 века, во время перестройки храма, была возведена каменная ограда и брама. Костел является базиликой с тремя нефами, двумя башенными ярусами из красного кирпича.

достопримечательности витебска
старая открытка, источник: глобус Беларуси

Брама костела в Витебске

В советское время костелу сильно досталось. С 1935 года храм закрыт, а в стенах здания разместили склад. Во время ВОВ витебский костел значительно разрушен, пострадали башни. Гуляя вокруг территории можно заметить следы от пуль.

Следы от пуль витебский костел

Витебский костел

Справа от входа в костел притаилась небольшая часовня святого Креста. Её построили в 1800 году (полностью перестроена в 1990). Здесь же сохранилось старинное католическое кладбище, многие захоронения датируются началом 19 века.

Каплица возле костела в Витебске

Старинное кладбище в Витебске

Костел и часовня Витебск

После окончания войны, костел Святой Варвары, более 40 лет стоял заброшенным и продолжал разрушаться. А перед самым развалом СССР была странная идея перестроить храм в концертный зал. Эта затея не увенчалась успехом и в 1993 году витебский костел возвращен католикам города. До 2011 года храм являлся кафедральным собором.

Костел святой Варвары в городе Витебск

Последняя реконструкция костела добавила ему черты архитектуры неоготики, сохранив при этом и неороманский стиль.

Костел святой Барбары Витебск

Костел находится в Витебске, на улице Ленинградская 27 (через дорогу от Полоцкого рынка).

Что ещё посмотреть в городе? Загляните к ратуше и центральному собору, посетите старую часть Витебска. Другие достопримечательности Беларуси на карте.

Если вы нашли ошибку, пожалуйста, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter.

5 1 голос
Оцените статью
Подписаться
уведомления
0 Комментарий
Inline Feedbacks
Посмотреть все комментарии