Ta Prohm temple swallowed by the jungle

Angkor in Cambodia was a hit in the early 2000s with the release of Lara Croft: Tomb Raider. Angelina Jolie played the lead role. Ta Prohm Temple was built by the Khmer Empire. A unique example of antiquity cannot be confused with other buildings, it is distinguished by a unique connection with nature.

abandoned cities of the ancient world

Built in the 12th century, the temple embraces the roots of centuries-old trees, and dense greenery entwines its walls. The stone roofs could not withstand the pressure and lost to nature, which gradually turns the grandiose structure into ruins.

Once upon a time, Angkor was something of a modern metropolis with a population of millions, but the inhabitants of Siam (today Thailand) took over the city. The center of Cambodia had to be moved to Phnom Penh, and in the meantime, the rich heritage of the Khmers turned into an abandoned place. Ta-Prom is not the only temple in the jungle. Here, in Angkor, the largest temple in the world, built in honor of the god Vishnu, Angkor Wat, has been preserved.

The ruins of the Ta-Prom temple were discovered by archaeologists in 1882. At that time, the picture was similar to what we see today. It was the archaeologists who decided to leave the structure untouched, fearing that cutting down trees would lead to the destruction of the sanctuary.

Apparently they were right. In addition, the struggle of ancient ruins with nature does not leave indifferent any visiting tourist - an unimaginable sight.

You can look at the bas-reliefs on the walls of the temple for a long time. The most interesting of them are the mythical demigoddesses - Apsaras, depicted as beautiful women. But the evening twilight turns them into monstrous creatures. One of the walls is decorated with a bas-relief depicting a stegosaurus. How the Khmer could have known about the existence of dinosaurs is still a mystery.

The ancient temple in Cambodia was a city within a big city. From the Khmer language, Ta Prohm is translated as "monastery of the king." The king at that time was Javayarman VII, who decorated the structure with gold and pearls. They say he kept diamonds inside. Of course, none of his contemporaries found any of them. Therefore, an abandoned temple in the middle of the Cambodian jungle will be of interest not to treasure hunters, but rather to lovers of abandoned places.

Do you love such places? Read our article about abandoned cities of the ancient world.

0 0 vote
Rate this article
Subscribe
notice
1 Comment
the old
New most +
Inline feedback
View all comments
Gogolson
Gogolson
5 years ago

So they actually filmed Tomb Raider here? Never would have thought

Храм Та Пром, который поглотили джунгли

Ангкор в Камбодже был на слуху в начале 2000-х у многих благодаря выходу на экраны фильма «Лара Крофт: расхитительница гробниц». Главную роль в нем сыграла Анджелина Джоли. Храм Та Пром был построен империей кхемеров. Уникальный пример древности нельзя перепутать с другими постройками, его отличает уникальная связь с природой. Построенный в 12 веке храм обнимают корни вековых деревьев, и густая зелень оплетает его стены. Каменные крыши не выдержали напора и проиграли природе, которая постепенно превращает грандиозное сооружение в руины.

Когда-то Ангкор был чем-то вроде современного мегаполиса, в котором проживали миллионы, но обитатели Сиама (сегодня Таиланд) захватили город. Пришлось перенести центр Камбоджи в Пномпень, а тем временем богатое наследие кхмеров превратилось в заброшенное место. Та-Пром – не единственный храм в джунглях. Здесь, в Ангкоре, сохранился самый большой храм в мире, построенный в честь бога Вишну – Ангкор Ват.

Руины храма Та-Пром археологи обнаружили в 1882 году. В то время картина была схожа с той, что мы видим сегодня. Именно археологи решили оставить строение в нетронутом виде, опасаясь, что рубка деревьев приведет к разрушению святилища.

Видимо, они оказались правы. К тому же, борьба древних руин с природой не оставляет равнодушными ни одного приезжего туриста – зрелище невообразимое.

Можно долго рассматривать барельефы на стенах храма. Самым интересным из них признаны мифические полубогини – апсары, изображенные в виде прекрасных женщин. Но вечерние сумерки превращают их в чудовищных созданий. Одну из стен украшает барельеф с изображением стегозавра. Как кхмеры могли знать о существовании динозавров – до сих пор загадка.

Древний храм в Камбодже был городом в большом городе. С языка кхмеров Та Пром переводится как «монастырь короля». Королем в то время был Джаваярман VII, который украсил строение золотом и жемчужинами. Говорят, внутри он хранил бриллианты. Конечно, никто из современников не нашел ни одного из них. Поэтому заброшенный храм посреди камбоджийских джунглей будет интересен не кладоискателям, а скорее любителям заброшек.

1
Отправить ответ

avatar
1 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
1 Comment authors
Гогольсон Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
новые старые больше всего +
уведомления
Гогольсон
Гость
Гогольсон

то есть тут реально снимали Томб Райдер? Никогда бы не подумал