Brigid Order exists since the 14th century, on the territory Belarus the only monastery was in Grodno. As part of the monastery was built Church of the Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin Mary.

Brigid Church

The first buildings date back to 1634-35, when the Lithuanian Marshal Krzysztof Veselovsky and his wife Alexandra decided to build a monastery for nuns here Order of Saint Brigid. Respectively Brigid's Church in Grodno dates from the first half of the 17th century.

Church in the center of Grodno

Brigid Church has only one nave. On relatively low towers are portals made of Dutch sandstone. The western façade is divided by straight vertical ledges that imitate Corinthian order columns. They are decorated with cornices, turrets and an ornament, which is a spiral curl. The facade on the north side is covered with artistic plaster. The architecture of the temple belongs to the early baroque period.

Brigid's Church and Monastery in Grodno

What did the order of Brigitte do?

Representatives of the order led a solitary and isolated life from the city. A distinctive feature of their robes was a headdress, on which were five red marks, personifying the wounds of Christ.

brigitskiy-kostel

Saint Brigid is the spiritual patroness of the nuns. She renounced wealth and royal privileges and gave her life to the service of the Lord.

Sights of Grodno - Brigid's Church

The monastery in Grodno belonged to the order for more than two centuries. However, in 1842, the Russian authorities abolished the monastery, allowing the nuns only to remain in the church. Toward the end of the 19th century, the church was badly damaged by fire. The flame even melted the bell in one of the towers. By 1890, only 5 nuns remained in the former monastery. The last of the brigits of the Grodno monastery is considered Eleonora Skrezhendevskaya.

In the second half of the 20th century, there was a kindergarten here for some time, then narcological and neuropsychiatric dispensaries. Early 90s Church of the Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin Mary became active again.

Spihler in Grodno

On the territory of the monastery, another unique building has been preserved - wooden sprinkler. Built in the middle of the 18th century (between 1753 and 1780).

Spihler in Grodno

In form, this is a house of 2 floors, built of beams with a high pitched roof.

brigitok spichler monastery

During its heyday, the Brigitte Monastery occupied an area of ​​a whole block. It included a church, a residential building, a stone fence, several towers and spichler.

In the neighboring quarter there is another unusual attraction - water towers Kasya and Basya. Look closer to the historical center Church of the Discovery of the Holy Cross. Variants of excursions in Grodno.

5 1 vote
Rate this article
Subscribe
notice
0 Comment
Inline feedback
View all comments

Бригитский орден существует с 14 века, на территории Беларуси единственный монастырь находился в Гродно. В составе монастыря был построен Благовещенский костел Пресвятой Девы Марии.

Бригитский костел

Первые постройки датируются 1634-35 годами, когда литовский маршалок Кшиштоф Веселовский и его жена Александра приняли решение возвести здесь монастырь для монахинь ордена святой Бригиты. Соответственно Бригитский костел в Гродно датируется первой половиной 17 века.

Костел в центре Гродно

Бригитский костел имеет только один неф. На относительно невысоких башнях находятся порталы, сделанные из голландского песчаника. Западный фасад разделён прямыми вертикальными выступами, которые имитируют коринфские ордерные колонны. Они украшены карнизами, башенками и орнаментом, который представляет собой спиралевидные завитки. Фасад с северной стороны покрыт художественной штукатуркой. Архитектура храма относится к периоду раннего барокко.

Бригитский костел и монастырь в Гродно

Чем занимался орден бригитток?

Представительницы ордена вели уединённую и обособленную от города жизнь. Отличительной чертой их одеяний был головной убор, на котором находились пять красных отметин, олицетворяющие раны Христа.

brigitskiy-kostel

Святая Бригита — это духовная покровительница монахинь. Она отреклась от богатства и королевских привилегий и отдала свою жизнь служению Господу.

Достопримечательности Гродно - Бригитский костел

Монастырь в Гродно принадлежал ордену более двух столетий. Однако в 1842 году, российская власть упразднила монастырь, позволив монахиням лишь остаться в храме. Ближе к концу 19 века костел сильно пострадал от пожара. В пламени даже расплавился колокол в одной из башен. К 1890 году, уже в бывшем монастыре, оставалось всего 5 монахинь. Последней из бригиток гродненского монастыря считается Элеонора Скрежендевская.

Во второй половине 20 века здесь некоторое время находился детский сад, потом наркологический и психоневрологический диспансеры. В начале 90-ых костел Благовещения Пресвятой Девы Марии опять стал действующим.

Спихлер в Гродно

На территории монастыря сохранилась ещё одно уникальное здание – деревянный спихлер. Построен в середине 18 века (в промежуток между 1753 – 1780 годом).

Спихлер в Гродно

По форме – это дом в 2 этажа, построенный из брусьев с высокой скатной крышей.

монастырь бригиток спихлер

Во времена своего расцвета монастырь бригиток занимал территорию в целый квартал. Он включал в себя костел, жилой корпус, ограждение из камня, несколько башен и спихлер.

В соседнем квартале есть ещё одна необычная достопримечательность – водонапорные башни Кася и Бася. Ближе к историческому центру посмотрите костел Отыскания святого Креста. Варианты экскурсий в Гродно.

Если вы нашли ошибку, пожалуйста, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter.

5 1 голос
Оцените статью
Подписаться
уведомления
0 Комментарий
Inline Feedbacks
Посмотреть все комментарии