Fascinating Viking Books

The topic of the Scandinavian conquerors is of interest to many nations. Their way of life and customs, cruelty and courage, heritage and history attract more than one generation. You can get into their minds with the help of a book. Historical novels and publications that make you think about many aspects of medieval life.

Who wrote about fearless warriors and what books about Vikings are worth reading?

"Viking" Edison Marshall

Year of publishing: 1865

The historical novel tells about the time of the conquest of Northumbia by northern warriors - the Vikings. The book tells how the great and cruel hovding Ragnar died, describes the great love of the liberated slave Ogier and the princess of Wales. The book is full of exploits, adventures and struggles of the northern people.

"Viking Campaigns" - Anders Magnus Stringholm

Year of publishing: 1835

The book can be called an encyclopedia and historical work by A. Strinngolm. The “Viking Campaigns” tells about the life and ancient customs of the ancient Scandinavians, their way of life, state structure, campaigns and battles. The book, written in 1835, was repeatedly reprinted and won one of the leading positions among such creations. This is one of the most famous and authoritative writings about the Viking Age.

Viking Age - Peter Sawyer

Year of publishing: 1967

Rich in historical truth, the book is dedicated to violent warriors, the mention of which excited the whole of Western Europe. The Viking Age was brought to the world by an English historian in the course of a thorough study of historical sources about the Vikings and the dark age. The book reveals the main reasons for their campaigns and many facts about the northern peoples.

Vikings - Holger Arbman

Year of publishing: 1961

The book takes you to an era that had a huge impact on the further development of European peoples. The book came out from the pen of the outstanding Swedish archaeologist Holger Arbman and is dedicated to the Vikings. In it you can see the general picture of the life of the Scandinavian people, archaeological and historical facts about fearless warriors. The accessible writing style makes the book appealing to all ages.

"Eaters of the Dead" - Michael Crichton

Year of publishing: 1976

A native of the Arab aristocracy, Ibn Fadlan, having gone on behalf of the caliph, is captured by the northern people, in a country where the day is longer than the night, and at night demons come together and behead people. A fearless squad of Vikings is sent to fight against a tribe of eaters of the dead. At their head stands the fearless Beowulf. Ibn Fadlan becomes part of the detachment - the 13th warrior.

Vikings. Life, religion, culture" Jacqueline Simpson

Year of publishing: 2005

A book written by a specialist in Scandinavian culture and editor of the Folklore magazine. A detailed story about sailors and conquerors, famous for their cruelty and campaigns. You will learn the details of the life of the Vikings, their rituals, archaeological finds and the folklore of the warlike people. The book is written using original sources, detailed illustrations and accessible narrative language.

Saxon Chronicle

The Saxon Chronicle book series by Bernard Cornwell

Year of publishing: 2005-2015

A literary cycle of ten books (an 11th book is planned) about the struggle between an ancient Germanic tribe (Saxons) and the Normans (Danes and Norwegians) for the British Isles. In the fifth century, the Romans left the islands. Britain was fragmented into small kingdoms. The northern peoples brought protracted wars, bloodshed and destruction to these lands.

"Viking boat. White Strangers - James L. Nelson

Year of publishing: 2013

The story of how Thorgrim goes for a profit, but finds himself in a cycle of passions. In an attempt to cash in on the sale of the Crown of the Three Kingdoms, Thorgrim Nightwolf is captured by the Vikings. The hunt for the relic of Ireland does not end there. What will the struggle for the Irish throne lead to?

"Valkyrie. The one I'm always waiting for" - Maria Semenova

Year of publishing: 2001

Danish warriors saw many seas, fought in many battles, but even they, the harsh Vikings, marveled at the fearlessness of the Valkyrie. The maiden-warrior played with death and each time won this game. Was it kept by Scandinavian aces, Slovenian gods or spirits of natural elements? Different things were said about her, but the glorious name of Valkyrie became a legend.

Viking World. The Daily Life of Odin's Children - Martin J. Dougherty

Year of publishing: 2014

A disaster for the whole of medieval Europe - the Vikings, ferocious sailors and warriors of the wild North. The fame of murderers, slave traders and ruthless robbers went ahead of their drakkars. Time has changed the idea of ​​this people as fearless, courageous and skillful warriors who did not know the word "fear". The book talks about stereotypes and reveals the true story of the Vikings. Did they fight or were merchants, how did they live, what was the main custom and way of life? All this on the pages of the book was described by the British historian Martin Dougherty.

You might be interested viking movies. Also more information about books.

[wpcd_coupon id = 43939]
0 0 vote
Rate this article
Subscribe
notice
1 Comment
the old
New most +
Inline feedback
View all comments
the same guy
the same guy
5 years ago

nice

Увлекательные книги о викингах

Тема скандинавских завоевателей интересует многие народы. Их быт и обычаи, жестокость и отвага, наследие и история манит не одно поколение. Проникнуть в их сознание можно с помощью книги. Исторические романы и издания, заставляющие задуматься над многими аспектами средневековой жизни.

Кто писал о бесстрашных воинах и какие книги о викингах стоит прочитать?

 

«Викинг» – Эдисон Маршалл

Год издательства: 1865

Исторический роман повествует о временах завоевания Нортумбии северными воинами – викингами. В книге рассказывается как погиб великий и жестокий хёвдинг Рагнар, описывается великая любовь освобожденного раба Огиера и принцессы Уэльса. Книга полна подвигов, приключений и борьбы северного народа.

«Походы викингов» – Андерс Магнус Стриннгольм

Год издательства: 1835

Kнигу можно назвать энциклопедией и историческим трудом А.Стриннгольма. В «Походах викингов” рассказывается о жизни и древних обычаях древних скандинавов, их укладе, государственном устройстве, походах и сражениях. Книга, написанная в 1835 году, неоднократно переиздавалась и завоевала одну из лидирующих позиций среди подобных творений. Это одно из самых известных и авторитетных сочинений об эпохе викингов.

«Эпоха викингов» – Питер Сойер

Год издательства: 1967

Богатая на историческую правду книга посвящена неистовым воинам, упоминание о которых будоражило всю Западную Европу. Эпоху викингов подарил миру английский историк в ходе тщательного изучения исторических источников о викингах и темной эпохе. Книга раскрывает основные причины их походов и многие факты о северных народах.

«Викинги» – Хольгер Арбман

Год издательства: 1961

Книга переносит в эпоху, оказавшую огромное влияние на дальнейшее развитие европейских народов. Книга вышла из под пера выдающегося шведского археолога Хольгера Арбмана и посвящена викингам. В ней можно увидеть общую картину жизни скандинавского народа , археологические и исторические факты о бесстрашных воинах. Доступный стиль изложения делает книгу привлекательной для разного возраста.

«Пожиратели мертвых» – Майкл Крайтон

Год издательства: 1976

Выходец из арабской аристократии Ибн Фадлан, отправившись по поручению халифа, попадает в плен к северному народу, в страну, где день длиннее ночи, а ночью вместе приходят демоны и обезглавливают людей. На борьбу с племенем пожирателей мертвых отправляется бесстрашный отряд викингов. В их главе стоит неустрашимый Беовульф. Ибн Фадлан становится частью отряда – 13-м воином.

«Викинги. Быт, религия, культура» Жаклин Симпсон

Год издательства: 2005

Книга, написанная специалистом по культуре скандинавов и редактором журнала «Фольклор». Подробный рассказ о мореходах и завоевателях, прославившихся своей жестокостью и походами. Вы узнаете подробности жизни викингов, их ритуалы, археологические находки и фольклор воинственного народа. В написании книги использованы оригинальные источники, подробные иллюстрации и доступный язык повествования.

Саксонские хроники

Цикл книг «Саксонские хроники» – Бернард Корнуэлл

Год издательства: 2005-2015

Литературный цикл из деcяти книг (планируется издание 11-й книги) о борьбе между древнегерманским племенем (саксами) и норманнами (датчанами и норвежцами) за Британские острова. В пятом веке римляне оставили острова. Британия была раздроблена на мелкие королевства. Северные народы принесли на эти земли затяжные войны, кровопролитие и разрушение.

«Ладья викингов. Белые чужаки» – Джеймс Л. Нельсон

Год издательства: 2013

История о том, как Торгрим отправляется за наживой, а оказывается в круговороте страстей. Пытаясь получить доход от продажи Короны Трех Королевств, Торгрим Ночной волк попадает в плен к викингам. Охота за реликвией Ирландии на этом не завершается. К чему приведет борьба за ирландский трон?

«Валькирия. Тот, кого я всегда жду» – Мария Семенова

Год издательства: 2001

Датские воины видели много морей, сражались во многих битвах, но даже они, суровые викинги, дивились бесстрашию Валькирии. Дева-воительница играла со смертью и каждый раз побеждала в этой игре. Её хранили скандинавские асы, словенские боги или духи природных стихий? О ней говорили разное, но славное имя Валькирии стало легендой.

«Мир викингов. Повседневная жизнь Детей Одина» – Мартин Дж. Догерти

Год издательства: 2014

Бедствие для всей средневековой Европы – викинги, свирепые мореходцы и воины дикого Севера. Слава об убийцах, работорговцах и безжалостных грабителях шла впереди их драккар. Время изменило представление об этом народе как о бесстрашных, мужественных и искусных воинах, которые не знали слова «страх». Книга говорит о стереотипах и раскрывает правдивую историю о викингах. Воевали они или были торговцами, чем жили, каков был главный обычай и уклад их жизни? Всё это на страницах книги описал британский историк Мартин Догерти.

Возможно, вам будут интересны фильмы о викингах.

1
Отправить ответ

avatar
1 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
1 Comment authors
тот самый парень Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
новые старые больше всего +
уведомления
тот самый парень
Гость
тот самый парень

nice