About 20 kilometers from Beshenkovichi there is an agricultural town Bocheykovo, which will be interesting to visit to see part of the family’s heritage Tsekhanovetsky. In addition to several outbuildings, an outbuilding and a memorial sign, you can find the place where the real one used to stand. palace with a gorgeous park. And what’s curious is that film footage of this estate, shot for the film “The Gentleman and the Rooster” (“Peўnі peraklіkajutstsa”) of 1928, has been preserved. Thanks to them, you can take a closer look at the lost palace and the territory of the complex.

Palace in Bocheykovo

The story of Bocheykov is well known, thanks to an extensive monograph Vladislav Tsekhanovetsky. Thus, the first information about the town dates back to the 15th century, when it belonged to Yushko Mikhalovich Drutsky-Podberesky-Pstrutsky, also known as Yamontovich-Podberesky. After his death (died in 1464), Bocheikovo passed to the last full-fledged ruler of the “Mstislav Principality” - Michal Ivanovich Mstislavsky-Zaslavsky. He had a lot of land and also added a rich dowry from his wife Julianna. However, after the divorce of the rich couple, all these lands were distributed among close and distant relatives, and so Bocheikovo ended up with the Tsekhanovetskys. Surprisingly, this family remained the owner of the estate from the beginning of the 16th century until the signing of the Riga Agreement.

Tsekhanovetsky estate memorial stone

Over the next 400 years, the Ciechanowiecki family rebuilt their family palace more than once, which literally went through several wars, disasters, fires and devastation. There are written memories of what the family house looked like from the second half of the 17th century. So a large estate stood on the right bank of the river, consisted of nine rooms and an adjoining chapel, protruding into a dense garden. For those times the decoration was impressive.

Palatsava-parkava complex Tsekhanavetskikh (Bacheyka)
Zdymak 1917, old pasta

Next to the Tsekhonovetskys’ residential building there was a slightly smaller outbuilding intended for guests, followed by a large kitchen and two stables for a hundred draft horses. However, the described estate burned down in 1708, and a more modest one was subsequently built in its place. A landscape park was laid out around the house, stables were rebuilt, and the guest outbuilding was renovated. The modesty of the new estate in Bocheikovo of that period is explained by the fact that the Tsekhanovetskys spent most of their time on their other estate - Opsa.

Bocheykovo

The brick palace, which can be seen in old photographs, was built during Jozefe Ciechanowiecki. There is even an interesting story that Jozef started this expansion of the palace in order to invite Stanislav August Poniatowski to hunt. Whether the last king of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth arrived or not is still unknown.

What did Belarus look like in 1928?
Still from the 1928 film, park side of the palace

Already in 1770, in addition to the palace itself, residential and outbuildings, numerous industrial enterprises were located in Bocheykovo, including a large cloth factory, an arms factory, a carriage factory, a furniture factory, a pottery factory and a distillery. To provide himself with quality workers, Tsekhanovetsky sent locals to study in Paris and London.

Soviet sculpture in Bocheykovo

Few descriptions of the estate from that period have survived. It is mentioned that her project was carried out by a little-known Italian architect, who, during the construction of the palace, forgot about the winter frosts and did not build a single stove. He equipped only four rooms with fireplaces. So all this had to be done later.

During the time of Stanislav Tsekhanovetsky, in the Bocheikovo palace, on July 11, 1812, Napoleon Bonaparte stayed overnight. There are memories that the French emperor was greeted by complete silence and emptiness, as most of the owners of the estate left, and all the other inhabitants disappeared into the forests. Only the estate manager Lapitsky, the butler and one of his young assistants assigned to the office remained in the estate. This surprised Napoleon so much that he did not fail to express his dissatisfaction to Lapitsky.

Palace Bačejkaŭ

The second half of the 19th century was a period of cultural flourishing for Bocheykovo; prominent guests and figures often came here. The Tsekhanovetskys paid attention to industrialization and therefore the production part was not inferior to the development of the cultural part.

Bocheykovo Estate

The palace, built by Józef Ciechanowiecki, was essentially a one-story building with high basements and an elongated rectangular plan. The main entrance looked relatively modest, reminiscent of many other classic estates of that time. The facade was distinguished by a shallow portico on the main axis with two Tuscan columns of square cross-section and two central ones with a round cross-section, divided vertically by pilasters, pierced by large rectangular window openings, and was completely covered with rustication.

Old photo of Bocheykov
One of the few photographs in which you can see the estate before reconstruction. 1900, Uladzimer Lihadzedau, private calcification. Krynica: be-tarask.wikipedia

The western side, in contrast, looked much more picturesque. Since the building was built on a slope, it was higher on this side, with a residential ground floor and square windows. The main accent of the park side is a three-axis, semicircular bay window from which a complex staircase leads to the garden.

Film The Gentleman and the Rooster 1928

Palace in Bocheykovo

At the beginning of the 20th century, the Tsekhanovetskys decided to rebuild their family residence. This is how the building got an attic floor and a balcony from the main entrance - this is exactly the appearance we see in the film “The Gentleman and the Rooster.”

Palace in the film The Gentleman and the Rooster
still from the film, front entrance
Still from the film Gentlemen and the Rooster
Still from the 1928 film - the portico of the main entrance

Thanks to the records of Vladislav Tsekhanovetsky with all the inventories, there are detailed descriptions of the interior decoration, paintings, interior items and things in the house. Unfortunately, now all these are just lists on paper; most of the valuables were taken to Moscow before the start of the First World War, and what remained was destroyed or stolen.

Bocheykova old smoke
“Blue” salon, photo before 1914

The last owner of the estate was Jerzy Stanislaw Ciechanowiecki, then the lands were nationalized. The fate of the estate in Bocheykovo is sad - not a trace of the house has survived, below is a photo of the place where the luxurious palace stood.

The place where there was a palace in Bocheykovo

Before the war, the building was used for various administrative needs, and in the post-war years, the partially destroyed house was dismantled by local residents for bricks. As a result, the estate retained a “hunting” outbuilding, a house for workers and several outbuildings.

Bocheykov Manor

There is an interesting fact: one of the representatives of an ancient family, Andrzej Ciechanowiecki, came to Bocheikowo in the 90s.

Tsekhanovetsky estate Bocheikovo

Below is a point with the location of the hunting outbuilding in Bocheykovo:

If you are in these parts, I recommend going to one more unusual manor in the village of Plamya.

5 1 vote
Rate this article
Subscribe
notice
0 Comment
Inline feedback
View all comments

Примерно в 20 километрах от Бешенковичей есть агрогородок Бочейково, который будет интересно посетить чтобы увидеть часть наследия рода Цехановецких. Кроме нескольких хозяйственных построек, флигеля и памятного знака можно отыскать место где раньше стоял настоящий дворец с шикарным парком. И что любопытно, сохранились кинокадры с этой усадьбой, снятые для фильма “Джентльмен и петух” (“Пеўні пераклікаюцца”) 1928 года. Благодаря им можно подробнее рассмотреть утраченный дворец и территорию комплекса.

Дворец в Бочейково

Неплохо известна история Бочейкова, благодаря обширной монографии Владислава Цехановецкого. Так первые сведения о местечке относятся ещё к 15 веку, когда оно принадлежало Юшко Михаловичу Друцкому-Подберескому-Пструцкому, также известному как Ямонтович-Подбереский. После его смерти (умер в 1464 году), Бочейково перешло к последнему полноправному правителю «Мстиславского княжества» – Михалу Ивановичу Мстиславскому-Заславскому. Земель у него было много и к тому же добавилось ещё и богатое приданное жены Юлианны. Однако после развода богатой четы все эти земли разошлись по близким и дальним родственникам, так Бочейково и оказалось у Цехановецких. Что удивительно, этот род оставался владельцем имения с начала 16 века и до подписания Рижского соглашения.

усадьба Цехановецких мемориальный камень

За последующие 400 лет Цехановецкие не раз перестраивали свой фамильный дворец, который в прямом смысле прошел через несколько войн, бедствий, пожаров и разорений. Сохранились письменные воспоминания о том как выглядел фамильный дом образца второй половины 17 века. Так большая усадьба стояла на правом берегу реки, состояла из девяти комнат и придомовой часовни, выступающей в густой сад. По тем временам убранство было впечатляющим.

Палацава-паркавы комплекс Цеханавецкіх (Бачэйкаў)
здымак 1917 года, старая паштоўка

Рядом с жилым домом Цехоновецких находился флигель несколько меньшего размера, предназначенный для гостей, за ним шла большая кухня и две конюшни на сотню упряжных лошадей. Однако описанная усадьба сгорела в 1708 году, а на её месте впоследствии выстроена более скромная. Вокруг дома был разбит пейзажный парк, вновь построены конюшни, отремонтирован гостевой флигель. Скромность нового имения в Бочейково того периода объясняется тем что Цехановецкие основное время проводили в другом своем имении – Опса.

Бочейково

Кирпичный дворец, который можно увидеть на старых снимках, строился при Юзефе Цехановецком. Есть даже интересная история, что Юзеф затеял это расширение дворца с целью пригласить Станислава Августа Понятовского на охоту. Приехал ли последний король Речи Посполитой или нет, так и неизвестно.

Как выглядела Беларусь в 1928 году?
Кадр из фильма 1928 года, парковая сторона дворца

Уже в 1770 году, помимо самого дворца, жилых и хозяйственных построек, в Бочейково располагались многочисленные промышленные предприятия, в том числе крупная суконная фабрика, оружейная, каретная, мебельная фабрика, гончарный и спиртзавод. Чтобы обеспечить себя качественными работниками, местных Цехановецкий отправлял учиться в Париж и Лондон.

Советская скульптура в Бочейково

Описаний усадьбы того периода сохранилось немного. Упоминается что её проектом занимался малоизвестный итальянский архитектор, который, при строительстве дворца забыл о зимних морозах и не построил ни одной печи. Каминами он оборудовал лишь четыре комнаты. Так что все это пришлось сделать позже.

Во времена Станислава Цехановецкого, во дворце Бочейково, 11 июля 1812 года, на ночь оставался Наполеон Бонапарт. Есть воспоминания, что французского императора встретила полная тишина и пустота, так как большая часть владельцев имения ушла, а все остальные жители скрылись в лесах. В усадьбе остались только управляющий имением Лапицкий, дворецкий и один из его молодых помощников, приписанный к канцелярии. Это настолько удивило Наполеона, что он не преминул выразить Лапицкому свое недовольство.

Палац Bačejkaŭ

Вторая половина 19 века для Бочейково было периодом расцвета культуры, сюда часто приезжали видные гости и деятели. Цехановецкие уделяли внимание индустриализации и потому производственная часть не уступала в развитие культурной.

Усадьба Бочейково

Дворец, построенный Юзефом Цехановецким, представлял собой по сути одноэтажное здание с высокими подвалами и вытянутым прямоугольным планом. Парадный вход выглядел сравнительно скромно, напоминая многие другие классические усадьбы того времени. Фасад выделялся неглубоким портиком на главной оси с двумя тосканскими колоннами квадратного сечения и двумя центральными – с круглым сечением, разделенный по вертикали пилястрами, пронизанный большими прямоугольными оконными проемами, был сплошь покрыт рустом.

Старое фота Бочейкова
Один из немногих снимков на которых можно увидеть усадьбу до перестройки. 1900 год, Уладзімер Ліхадзедаў, прыватная калекцыя. Крыніца: be-tarask.wikipedia

Западная сторона в противовес выглядела гораздо живописней. Так как здание построено на склоне, с этой стороны оно было выше, с жилым первым этажом и квадратными окнами. Главный акцент парковой стороны – трехосный, полукруглый эркер от которого шла сложная лестница в сад.

Фильм Джентельмен и петух 1928 год

Дворец в Бочейково

В начале 20 века, Цехановецкие принимают решение перестроить свою фамильную резиденцию. Так у здания появился мансардный этаж и балкон с главного въезда – именно такой облик мы видим в фильме “Джентельмен и петух”.

Дворец в фильме Джентельмен и петух
кадр из фильма, парадный вход
Кадр из фильма Джентельмены и петух
Кадр из фильма 1928 года – портик парадного входа

Благодаря записям Владислава Цехановецкого со всеми инвентаризациями, есть подробные описания внутреннего убранства, картин, предметов интерьера и вещей в доме. К сожалению, теперь всё это лишь списки на бумаге, большинство ценностей было вывезено в Москву ещё до начала Первой мировой войны, а то что оставалось – уничтожили, либо украли.

Бочейкова старые здымкі
“Синий” салон, фото до 1914 года

Последним владельцем имения был – Ежи Станислав Цехановецкий, затем земли национализированы. Судьба усадьбы в Бочейково печальна – от дома не сохранилось и следа, ниже фото того места где стоял шикарный дворец.

Место где был дворец в Бочейково

До войны здание использовали под различные административные нужды, а в послевоенные годы частично разрушенный дом разбирали местные жители на кирпич. В итоге от имения сохранился “охотничий” флигель, дом для рабочих и несколько хозяйственных построек.

Усадьба Бочейкова

Есть любопытный факт: в Бочейково в 90-ые приезжал один из представителей древнего рода – Анджей Цехановецкий.

усадьба Цехановецких Бочейково

Ниже точка с расположением охотничьего флигеля в Бочейково:

Если будете в этих краях рекомендую съездить ещё к одной необычной усадьбе в деревню Пламя.

5 1 голос
Оцените статью
Подписаться
уведомления
0 Комментарий
Inline Feedbacks
Посмотреть все комментарии