On the last, penultimate July weekend, the tenth anniversary festival took place “Our Grunwald 2018” – reconstruction of a large-scale medieval battle and of course a concert "Feast after the battle". As before, the festival is dedicated to the military and secular culture of our ancestors, and the main place, according to tradition, is occupied by reconstruction Battle of Grunwald - the largest medieval battles Europe.

This year the festival can rightly be called large-scale, and the anniversary a success. Therefore, we will not talk about the pros and cons, look at the photos, as well as video, which we shot during the reconstruction, and for those who love to read, we collected 10 facts about Grunwald and the battle itself.

The main source from which we know about the events of the Battle of Grunwald is "Chronicle of the conflict of Vladislav, king of Poland, with the crusaders in the year of Christ 1410". The author of the chronicle is unknown, but there are suggestions that it was written by a secretary Jagiello Zbigniew Oleśnicki. The second reliable historical source is Jan Długosz's History of Poland. The Polish historian wrote about the events from the words of his father, a participant in the Battle of Grunwald. Despite the biased attitude towards the Lithuanian troops on the part of the author, the events are described reliably.

A challenge to battle between Teutonic Order and the Lithuanian-Polish troops of Vitovt and Jagiello became the Swords of Grunwald. He sent two naked battle swords Ulrich von Jungingento provoke an opponent attack. After the victorious battle, the swords became the trophies of King Jagiello and were used in the coronations of Polish kings for three centuries. The handles of the blades were gilded and decorated with the coats of arms of the two states. Today, the missing swords are a symbol of the victory of Poland and Lithuania.

A monument to the Polish king Jagiello is installed even in the central park New York. The sculpture depicts Jagiello with crossed swords, sitting on a horse. The monument was made for the New York World's Fair in 1939, but due to the outbreak of World War II, the Polish representation remained in the city along with the monument.

Grunwald translated into Lithuanian - Zalgiris (Zalgiris). This name in the country is the Vilnius football club and the basketball club from Kaunas during the USSR.

Pillars of Gediminas (also known as Kolumny) - pre-heraldic and heraldic sign of the ON. His image was used on the shields of 10 banners of the Lithuanian army (according to Jan Długosz) during the Battle of Grunwald in 1410. Also with this sign, Prince Vitovt branded his horses, of which he had a lot.

The National Museum of Poland has a painting by the Polish artist Jan Matejko "Battle of Grunwald". The image of one of the battles is striking in its scale - the picture reaches 10 meters in width and 4 meters in height. The painting depicting Prince Vytautas, commander Jan Zizka and the Polish knight Zawisza Cherny was painted in 1878.

With the defeat of the Teutonic Order in the Battle of Grunwald, its decline began. The order lost most of its army and had to ransom knights from captivity or take hired warriors, which cost a lot.

The crusader army was 50 bannersrepresented by more than 20 nationalities. The Germans predominated among the knights, squires and crossbowmen.

In the historical sources of different peoples, the Battle of Grunwald is called differently. In Germany, the battle is known as Tannenberg, in Belarus - Dubrovenskaya, in Lithuania - Zalgiris.

More interesting about Belarus, excursion options, attractions map.

LEAVE AN ANSWER

Enter your comment
Your name

“Наш Грюнвальд” 2018 в Дудутках, видео битвы, а также факты о Грюнвальде.

На прошедших, предпоследних июльских выходных состоялся юбилейный десятый фестиваль “Наш Грюнвальд 2018” – реконструкция масштабной средневековой битвы и конечно концерт “Пир после битвы”. Как и прежде фестиваль посвящен военной и светской культуре наших предков, а главное место по традиции занимает реконструкция Грюнвальдской битвы – самой масштабной битвы средневековой Европы.

В этом году фестиваль по праву можно назвать масштабным, а юбилей удавшимся. Поэтому не будем о плюсах и минусах, посмотрите фотографии, а также видео, которое мы сняли во время реконструкции, а для тех кто любит читать – собрали 10 фактов о Грюнвальде и самой битве.

Главным источником, из которого мы знаем о событиях Грюнвальдской битвы, является «Хроника конфликта Владислава, короля Польши, с крестоносцами в год Христов 1410». Автор хроники неизвестен, но есть предположения, что она была написана секретарем Ягайло Збигневом Олесницким. Второй надежный исторический источник – сочинение Яна Длугоша «История Польши». Польский историк писал о событиях со слов своего отца – участника Грюнвальдской битвы. Несмотря на предвзятое отношение к литовским войскам со стороны автора, события описаны достоверно.

Вызовом на битву между тевтонским орденом и литовско-польскими войсками Витовта и Ягайло стали Мечи Грюнвальда. Два оголенных боевых меча прислал Ульрих фон Юнгинген, чтобы спровоцировать нападение соперника. После победной битвы мечи стали трофеями короля Ягайло и использовались в коронациях польских королей на протяжении трех веков. Рукоятки клинков позолотили и украсили гербами двух государств. Сегодня бесследно пропавшие мечи являются символом победы Польши и Литвы.

Памятник польскому королю Ягайло установлен даже в центральном парке Нью-Йорка. На скульптуре изображен Ягайло со скрещенными мечами, сидящий на лошади. Памятник сделали к Нью-Йоркской Всемирной выставке 1939 года, но из-за начала Второй мировой войны, представительство Польши осталось в городе вместе с памятником.

Грюнвальд в переводе на литовский – Žalgiris (Жальгирис). Такое название в стране носит вильнюсский футбольный клуб и баскетбольный клуб из Каунаса времен СССР.

Столпы Гедымина (также известны как Колюмны) – догеральдический и геральдический знак ВКЛ. Его изображение было использовано на щитах 10 хоругвей литовской армии (согласно сочинению Яна Длугоша) во время Грюнвальдской битвы 1410 года. Также этим знаком князь Витовт клеймил своих лошадей, которых у него было немало.

В Национальном музее Польши хранится картина польского художника Яна Матейко «Грюнвальдская битва». Изображение одного из боев поражает своим масштабом – картина достигает 10 метров в ширину и 4 метра в высоту. Картина с изображением князя Витовта, полководца Яна Жижки и польского рыцаря Завиши Черного была написана в 1878 году.

С поражения Тевтонского ордена в Грюнвальдской битве начался его закат. Орден лишился большей части своей армии и должен был выкупать рыцарей из плена или брать наемных воинов, что стоило немало.

Армия крестоносцев насчитывала 50 знамен, представленных более 20 национальностями. Среди рыцарей, оруженосцев и арбалетчиков преобладали немцы.

В исторических источниках разных народов Грюнвальдскую битву называют по-разному. В Германии битва известна как Танненбергская, в Беларуси – Дубровенская, в Литве – Жальгирис.

Если вы нашли ошибку, пожалуйста, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter.

Отправить ответ

Залогиньтесь, чтобы комментировать
  Подписаться  
уведомления