A place of solitude or a hermit's dwelling - this is how the Hermitage is translated from French (from le ermitage). One of the most impressive museums not only in Russia, but also in the world, as evidenced by the repeated entry into the top of the best museums in the world. Artistic and Cultural-Historical Museum Hermitage в St. Petersburg stores more than 3 million exhibits in its numerous halls.

History of the museum

The Hermitage was born from a private collection Catherine II, which was represented by collectible paintings brought from Berlin. In the future, a grandiose museum was founded in 1764.

Among the first 317 paintings in the collection of Catherine the Great were paintings by Rubens, Jordaens, Hals. Initially, the paintings were kept in separate apartments. Today it is the building of the Small Hermitage.

The next step towards the expansion of the museum was the acquisition of the collection of Count Heinrich von Brühl, the first minister of the Polish King August III. His collection of paintings consisted of 600 paintings by French, Italian and Norman artists.

Dmitry Golitsyn, one of the representatives of the Russian princely family, also contributed to the replenishment of the Hermitage collection. He acquired canvases in one of the largest galleries in Paris. The new exhibits of the museum are valuable paintings Raphael's Holy Family, Titian's Danae, Rembrandt's The Return of the Prodigal Son, Rubens' Descent from the Cross and works by other great artists.

The English banker Lyde-Brown sold his collection for the Hermitage, which included ancient statues and Michelangelo's famous marble sculpture Crouching Boy.

Museum expansion

However, there was less and less space in the art gallery. For this reason, they began to build a new building - the Great Hermitage. Its construction was completed in 1782.

They visited the private estates of Catherine the Great only on recommendations (as they say now, “acquaintance”). Gradually, the gallery was replenished with new works of art, and by 1852, when the museum opened for visitors, the Hermitage already kept in its halls an extensive collection of world masterpieces of art.

Unfortunately, the museum in St. Petersburg lost many valuable exhibits during a big sale organized by the government of the USSR. During the Second World War, the museum was closed, and the main part of the Hermitage collection was taken to the Urals. But after the end of hostilities, the exhibits were returned to the Hermitage, moreover, the gallery was supplemented with trophy art objects.

The gallery continued to grow, including exhibits from Russian galleries and museums. In 2006, the Hermitage 20/21 project was organized to develop interest in contemporary art.

Halls of the Hermitage

The main museum in St. Petersburg is located in the central part of St. Petersburg, on the Palace Embankment of the Neva.

The central link of the complex of museums is Winter Palace, built by Bartolomeo Francesco Rastrelli for Empress Elizabeth. In the halls of the historical monument of baroque and rococo architecture there is a permanent exhibition of paintings and sculptures, historical artifacts of past centuries. At the moment, there are 16 halls in the Winter Palace: the Large and Small throne rooms, the Jordan Gallery, the chambers of Empress Mary, the Military Gallery and others.

The Small Hermitage conceived as a greenhouse. The Small Hermitage complex includes the Hanging Garden, the North and South Pavilions. The building got its name from the "small hermitages" - evenings that the empress arranged in the palace. Here, in the longitudinal galleries, the first exhibits of the museum were kept.

Erected as a place to house an art collection, New Hermitage, solemnly opened in 1852. The architects of the new building in the architectural style "historicism" were V. Stasov and N. Efimov. The halls contain collections of ancient paintings and art, sculptures. The Art Gallery is located on the second floor of the New Hermitage.

Valuable canvases and objects of Italian Renaissance art can be seen in the building Big (Old) Hermitage. The building became a "home" for the replenished exhibits of the museum. By the way, there was also a library. A building was attached to the Great Hermitage, in which the Loggia of Raphael is located - a gallery similar to the papal gallery in the Vatican.

From the Raphael Loggia you have a beautiful view of the Hermitage Theater. The creation belongs to the hands of the architect Giacomo Quarenghi. The interior uses artificial marble, the walls are decorated with sculptures and columns. Theatrical performances have been held here since the 18th century. To this day, the theater functions, and exhibitions are organized in the foyer.

The exposition, where you can learn about the history and culture of Russia in the first third of the XNUMXth century, is kept within the walls Menshikov Palace. The building was built in the Baroque style in 1710. The interior of the palace deserves special attention. In addition, the governor of St. Petersburg, Menshikov, collected an extensive collection of coins, paintings, books and art objects, which are still kept in exhibition halls.

On Palace Square, opposite the Imperial Palace, the Palace Ensemble is completed by the building General Staff. The art exhibition is located in the left wing of the building.

The Hermitage museum complex includes Museum of the Imperial Porcelain Factory.

Tickets to the Hermitage

The cost of a ticket to the Hermitage depends on the number of objects that you want to visit in the museum. You can buy a ticket at the museum box office or online at hermitagemuseum.org. Take a tour from the list below:

300 rubles

Visit to one of the objects of the Hermitage (Menshikov Palace, Winter Palace of Peter I, Museum of the Imperial Porcelain Factory, Restoration and Storage Center "Staraya Derevnya")

400 rubles

Entrance ticket to the main museum complex, the Winter Palace and the General Staff Building.

700 rubles

Visiting the main museum complex, the General Staff Building, the Winter Palace, the Menshikov Palace and the Museum of the Imperial Porcelain Factory.

Online tickets to the Hermitage

680 rubles

Entrance ticket to the Main Museum Complex and the Main Headquarters

1020 rubles

Ticket to visit the Main Museum Complex and exposition complexes (General Headquarters, Winter Palace of Peter I, Menshikov Palace, Museum of the Imperial Porcelain Factory). Ticket for 2 days.

If you have purchased e-tickets, please remember that they are valid for 180 days from the date of order.

How to get to the Hermitage for free

Every first Thursday of the month, individual museum visitors can enter the Hermitage free of charge.

There is no need to pay an entrance fee for preschoolers, schoolchildren, students in educational institutions, students of all nationalities and retired citizens of Russia.

Opening hours of the Hermitage

Daily from 10.30 to 18.00.
Wed, Fri from 10.30 to 21.00
Weekend - January 1 and May 9

Address: Palace Square 2, St. Petersburg

5 1 vote
Rate this article
Subscribe
notice
1 Comment
the old
New most +
Inline feedback
View all comments
Sasha Poshykovich
Administrator
Sasha Poshykovich
5 years ago

Peter is something

Музей Эрмитаж в Санкт-Петербурге

Место уединения или жилище отшельника – так переводится Эрмитаж с французского языка (от le ermitage). Один из самых впечатляющих музеев не только России, но и мира, в подтверждение тому неоднократное вхождение в топ лучших музеев мира. Художественный и культурно-исторический музей Эрмитаж в Санкт-Петербурге хранит в своих многочисленных залах более 3 млн экспонатов. Жилье в Питер – тут.

История создания музея

Эрмитаж зародился из частной коллекции Екатерины II, которая была представлена коллекционными картинами, привезенными из Берлина. В будущем грандиозный музей был основан в 1764 году.

В числе первых 317 картин коллекции Екатерины Великой были полотна Рубенса, Йорданса, Хальса. Изначально картины хранились в отдельных апартаментах. Сегодня это здание Малого Эрмитажа.

Следующим шагом к расширению музея стало приобретение коллекции графа Генриха фон Брюля – первого министра польского короля Августа III. Его собрание картин насчитывало 600 полотен, принадлежавших перу французских, итальянских и нормандских художников.

Пополнению коллекции Эрмитажа посодействовал и один из представителей русского княжеского рода Дмитрий Голицын. Он приобрел полотна в одной из крупнейших галерей Парижа. Новыми экспонатами музея стали ценные картины «Святое Семейство» Рафаэля, «Даная» Тициана, «Возвращение блудного сына» Рембрандта, «Снятие с креста» Рубенса и работы других великих художников.

Английский банкир Лайд-Браун продал свою коллекцию для Эрмитажа, в которую входили старинные статуи и знаменитая мраморная скульптура Микеланджело «Скорчившийся мальчик».

Расширение музея

Однако места в картинной галерее оставалось всё меньше. По этой причине начали строить новое здание – Большой Эрмитаж. Его строительство было закончено в 1782 году.

Посещали частные владения Екатерины Великой лишь по рекомендациям (как говорят сейчас «по знакомству»). Постепенно галерея пополнялась новыми произведениями искусства и к 1852 году, когда музей открылся для посетителей, Эрмитаж уже хранил в своих залах обширную коллекцию мировых шедевров искусства.

К несчастью, музей в Питере лишился многих ценных экспонатов во время большой распродажи, организованной правительством СССР. Во время ВОВ музей закрыли, а основную часть коллекции Эрмитажа вывезли на Урал. Но после окончания военных действий, экспонаты вернули в Эрмитаж, к тому же дополнив галерею трофейными предметами искусства.

Галерея продолжала пополняться, в том числе экспонатами российских галерей и музеев. В 2006 году был организован проект Эрмитаж 20/21 с целью развить интерес к современному искусству.

Залы Эрмитажа

Главный музей в Санкт-Петербурге находится в центральной части Питера, на Дворцовой набережной Невы.

Центральным звеном комплекса музеев выступает Зимний дворец, построенный Бартоломео Франческо Растрелли для императрицы Елизаветы. В залах исторического памятника архитектуры барокко и рококо хранится постоянная экспозиция живописи и скульптур, исторические артефакты прошлых веков. На данный момент в Зимнем дворце насчитывается 16 залов: Большой и Малый тронные залы, Иорданская галерея, покои императрицы Марии, Военная галерея и другие.

Малый Эрмитаж задумывался как оранжерейный дом. В комплекс Малого Эрмитажа входит Висячий сад, Северный и Южный павильоны. Свое название здание получило от «малые эрмитажи» – вечеров, которые устраивала императрица во дворце. Здесь, в продольных галереях, хранились первые экспонаты музея.

Возведенный как место для размещения художественной коллекции, Новый Эрмитаж, торжественно открылся в 1852 году. Архитекторами нового здания в архитектурном стиле «историзм» стали В. Стасов и Н.Ефимов. В залах хранятся коллекции античной живописи и искусства, скульптуры. На втором этаже Нового Эрмитажа разместилась Картинная галерея.

Ценные полотна и предметы искусства Италии эпохи Возрождения можно увидеть в здании Большого (Старого) Эрмитажа. Постройка стала «домом» для пополнявшихся экспонатов музея. Между прочим, здесь размещалась и библиотека. К Большому Эрмитажу пристроено здание, в котором находится Лоджия Рафаэля – галерея, подобная папской галерее в Ватикане.

Из Лоджии Рафаэля открывается прекрасный вид на Эрмитажный театр. Творение принадлежит рукам архитектора Джакомо Кваренги. В интерьере использован искусственный мрамор, стены украшены скульптурами и колоннами. Театральные представления проводили здесь с 18 века. По сей день театр функционирует, а в фойе организовываются выставки.

Экспозиция, по которой можно узнать об истории и культуре России первой трети XVIII века, хранится в стенах Дворца Меншикова. Здание построено в барочном стиле в 1710 году. Внутреннее убранство дворца заслуживает отдельного внимания. К тому же, губернатором Санкт-Петербурга, Меншиковым, была собрана обширная коллекция монет, картин, книг и предметов искусства, которые хранятся до сих пор в выставочных залах.

На Дворцовой площади, напротив императорского дворца, завершает Дворцовый ансамбль здание Главного штаба. Выставка предметов искусства находится в Левом крыле здания.

В музейный комплекс Эрмитаж входит музей Императорского Фарфорового завода.

Билеты в Эрмитаж

Стоимость билета в Эрмитаж зависит от количества объектов, которые вы хотите посетить в музее. Купить билет можно в кассе музея или онлайн на сайте hermitagemuseum.org. Экскурсию взять здесь.

300 рублей

Посещение одного из объектов Эрмитажа (Дворец Меншикова, Зимний дворец Петра I, музея Императорского фарфорового завода, Реставрационно-хранительский центр «Старая Деревня»)

400 рублей

Входной билет в главный музейный комплекс, Зимний дворец и Главный штаб.

700 рублей

Посещение главного музейного комплекса, Главного штаба, Зимнего дворца, Дворца Меншикова и музея Императорского фарфорового завода.

Онлайн билеты в Эрмитаж

680 рублей

Входной билет в Главный музейный комплекс и Главный Штаб

1020 рублей

Билет на посещение Главного музейного комплекса и экспозиционных комплексов (Главный Штаб, Зимний дворец Петра I, Дворец Меншикова, Музей Императорского фарфорового завода). Билет на 2 дня.

Если вы приобрели электронные билеты, не забывайте, что они действительны в течение 180 дней с момента оформления заказа.

Как попасть в Эрмитаж бесплатно

Каждый первый четверг месяца индивидуальные посетители музея могут пройти в Эрмитаж бесплатно.

Не нужно платить за вход дошкольникам, школьникам, учащимся в образовательных учреждениях, студентам всех национальностей и пенсионерам-гражданам России.

Время работы Эрмитажа

Ежедневно с 10.30 до 18.00.
Ср,пт с 10.30 до 21.00
Выходные – 1 января и 9 мая

Адрес: Дворцовая площадь 2, Санкт-Петербург

1
Отправить ответ

avatar
1 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
1 Comment authors
Aliaksandr M Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
новые старые больше всего +
уведомления
Aliaksandr M
Администратор

Питер – это нечто