Church of St. Boris and Gleb in Grodno - a unique monument of ancient architecture. The temple is also named Kolozha churchor Kolozha. Presumably founded during the reign of Princes Boris and Gleb Vsevolodkovich. And probably named after them. There is another version, according to which the Borisoglebskaya church was built by the children of the princes. The exact date is unknown, but most historians agree that the temple was built before 1183.

Boris and Gleb Church in Grodno

Today this historical object is one of the central sights of the city.

The main attraction of Grodno

Second name Borisoglebskaya Church - Kolozhskaya comes from a place Kolozhanon which the temple was built. The accumulation of natural sources and springs in this place has long been revered by pagans.

church in Grodno

Kolozha Church in Grodno

During its long history, the church was repeatedly rebuilt, destroyed and rebuilt again. A significant decline occurred at the end of the 15th - beginning of the 16th century. At that time, the temple stood without a roof and windows, with partially destroyed walls. All this is the result of ongoing wars and battles.

Kolozhskaya or Borisoglebskaya church in Grodno

Borisoglebskaya church, stands on the steep bank of the Neman, on the very slope. On the one hand, it looks harmonious and fits into the architectural ensemble. Grodno. However, from the point of view of geology, such a place is irrational.

Kolozhskaya or Borisoglebskaya church in Grodno

Back in 1720, there was a situation when the wall of the temple almost collapsed. Then the problem was solved by planting trees, which strengthened the soil on the slope. But in 1853, this location of the temple once again brought him serious destruction. As a result of the landslide, the southern wall of the temple and part of the western one collapsed. At the end of the 19th century, work was carried out to strengthen the coast, and in 1897 the walls were restored.

Kolozha Church in Grodno

Kolozha church in Grodno

Architecture, interior and interesting facts

The architecture of the Kolozha Church is truly unique and has no analogues in Belarus. The temple is cross-domed and three-apse, made on six pillars. It is quite small in size, about 13 by 25 meters, but the interior of the church is perceived as quite spacious.

What does the Kolozha church look like inside

This effect of space is achieved, among other things, due to the round section of the supporting pillars.

Borisoglebskaya church inside

Inside the walls of the church are made of thin flagstone bricks. The modern interior is very harmoniously combined with the abundance of wood and carved altars, it looks dignified.

Altar of the Kolozha church in Grodno

The decoration of the Borisoglebskaya church in Grodno

Perhaps the main interest is the facade of the Kolozha Church, or rather the surface of the walls. Due to the inserts of multi-colored boulders and majolica slabs, the effect of the antiquity of the temple is transmitted. When you look at such different masonry, you really believe that the church has more than 800 years of history.

The decision not to cover the entire facade with wooden panels looks logical and correct. Since the walls best show the historical path of the church.

Kolozha Church in Grodno

Initially, Kolozhskaya the church had a dome, like all Christian churches of that time. But in one of the destructions, the dome was lost. Since 1991, services of the Orthodox Church have been resumed in the temple. Boris and Gleb Church in Grodno is included in the list of monuments protected by UNESCO.

Boris and Gleb Church in Grodno, 12th century

Kolozha Church is located in the city of Grodno on Kolozha street, 6.

You can see nearby Old и new castle.

5 1 vote
Rate this article
Subscribe
notice
1 Comment
the old
New most +
Inline feedback
View all comments
Sasha Poshykovich
Administrator
Sasha Poshykovich
2 years ago

A truly unique landmark of Belarus, which is worth a visit. By the way, according to legend, the famous commander David Grodno was buried near the walls of the Kolozha Church (there is a monument in the park). And in the Kolozha church, a male choir sings

Церковь святого Бориса и Глеба в Гродно – уникальный памятник древнего зодчества. Храм также имеет название – Коложская церковь, либо Коложа. Предположительно заложена в период правления князей Бориса и Глеба Всеволодковичей. И вероятно названа в их честь. Есть и другая версия, по которой Борисоглебская церковь строилась детьми князей. Точная дата неизвестна, но большинство историков сходится в том, что храм построен до 1183 года.

Борисоглебская церковь в Гродно

Сегодня этот исторический объект одна из центральных достопримечательностей города.

Главная достопримечательность Гродно

Второе название Борисоглебской церкви – Коложская происходит от места Коложань, на котором и построен храм. Скопление природных источников и родников в этом месте издавна почиталось еще язычниками.

церковь в Гродно

Коложская церковь в Гродно

За свою долгую историю церковь неоднократно перестраивалась, разрушалась и вновь восстанавливалась. Значительный упадок пришелся на конец 15 – начало 16 века. В тот период храм стоял без крыши и окон, с частично разрушенными стенами. Всё это – результат непрекращающихся войн и сражений.

Коложская или Борисоглебская церковь в Гродно

Борисоглебская церковь, стоит на крутом берегу Немана, на самом склоне. С одной стороны это выглядит гармонично и вписывается в архитектурный ансамбль Гродно. Однако с точки зрения геологии, такое место нерационально.

Коложская или Борисоглебская церковь в Гродно

Ещё в 1720 году была ситуация, когда чуть не обвалилась стена храма. Тогда проблему решили посадкой деревьев, что укрепило грунт на склоне. Но в 1853 году такое расположение храма еще раз принесло ему серьёзные разрушения. В результате оползня обрушилась южная стена храма и часть западной. В конце 19 века были проведены работы по укреплению берега, а 1897 году были восстановлены стены.

Коложская церковь в Гродно

коложская церковь в гродно

Архитектура, интерьер и интересные факты

Архитектура Коложской церкви действительно уникальна и не имеет аналогов в Беларуси. Храм крестовокупольный и трехапсидный, выполнен на шести столпах. По размерам совсем небольшой, около 13 на 25 метров, однако внутреннее пространство церкви воспринимается довольно просторным.

Как выглядит коложская церковь внутри

Такой эффект пространства достигается в том числе за счёт круглого сечения опорных столбов.

Борисоглебская церковь внутри

Внутри стены церкви выполнены из тонкого плитнякового кирпича. Современный интерьер очень гармонично сочетается с обилием дерева и резными алтарями, выглядит достойно.

Алтарь коложская церковь в Гродно

Убранство Борисоглебской церкви в Гродно

Пожалуй главный интерес вызывает фасад Коложской церкви, а вернее поверхность стен. За счёт вставок разноцветных валунов и майоликовых плит передаётся эффект древности храма. Когда смотришь на такую разную кладку – действительно веришь что у церкви более 800 лет истории.

Решение не закрывать весь фасад деревянными панелями выглядит логичным и правильным. Так как стены лучше всего показывают исторический путь церкви.

Коложская церковь в Гродно

Изначально, Коложская церковь имела купол, как и все христианские храмы того времени. Но в одном из разрушений купол был утерян. С 1991 года в храме возобновлены службы православной церкви. Борисоглебская церковь в Гродно включена в список памятников, охраняемых ЮНЕСКО.

Борисоглебская церковь в Гродно 12 века

Коложская церковь находится в городе Гродно на улице Коложа, 6.

Рядом можно посмотреть Старый и Новый замок.

Если вы нашли ошибку, пожалуйста, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter.

5 1 голос
Оцените статью
Подписаться
уведомления
1 Комментарий
старые
новые больше всего +
Inline Feedbacks
Посмотреть все комментарии
Aliaksandr M
Администратор
Aliaksandr M
2 месяцев назад

Действительно уникальная достопримечательность Беларуси, которую стоит посетить. Кстати по легенде, у стен Коложской церкви захоронен известный полководец Давид Гродненский (в парке есть памятник). А ещё в Коложской церкви поёт мужской хор