On the reservoirs of Belarus you can quite easily meet a large white bird from the order Anseriformes - mute swan (bel. Shypun swan, lat. Cygnus olor). This is the largest representative of swans living in Europe and Asia. The bird is recognizable: it has white plumage, a black and red beak and black legs. One of the interesting features of this type of swans is that the bird bends its neck in the shape of the letter “S”.

What does a mute swan look like?

It’s a sad fact, but the mute swan for many years, specifically from the late 19th to the mid-20th century, was almost never seen in our country and was even completely exterminated. The restoration of the population began in stages since 1963, and the process itself lasted for several decades.

Mute swan photo

In Belarus, the mute swan periodically stays for the winter, but most of the birds fly away in the second half of autumn and return in late March - early April. Swans are monogamous birds, they mate for life and try to stay with only their family.

Photos of swans

Mute chicks hatch in late May - early June, usually about 5-10 swans. What is interesting is that the processes of raising offspring are shared between the female and the male.

Shypun Swan Belarus

Swan chicks are gray in color and stay close to their parents for almost their entire first year.

cygnus olor

You can often see swans riding on the backs of their parents, a cute sight.

Swan

Externally, the mute swan can easily be confused with a whooper swan; the main difference is the size and color of the beak (the whooper swan has a yellow beak and a slightly smaller size).

What does a mute swan look like?

Favorite habitats are bodies of water with standing water and an abundance of vegetation along the banks. The main diet is aquatic plants. Since 1993, the mute swan has been included in the Red Book of Belarus.

5 1 vote
Rate this article
Subscribe
notice
0 Comment
Inline feedback
View all comments

На водоёмах Беларуси можно довольно легко встретить крупную белую птицу из отряда гусеобразных – лебедь-шипун (бел. Лебедзь-шыпун, лат. Cygnus olor). Это самый крупный представитель лебедей, обитающих в Европе и Азии. Птица узнаваемая: имеет белое оперение, черно-красный клюв и черные лапки. Одна из интересных особенностей этого вида лебедей – птица изгибает шею в форме буквы “S”.

Как выглядит лебедь шипун?

Печальный факт, но лебедь-шипун долгие годы, а конкретно с конца 19 и по середину 20 века, на территории нашей страны почти не встречался и даже был полностью истреблен. Восстанавливать популяцию начали поэтапно с 1963 года, а сам процесс растянулся на несколько десятилетий.

Лебедь шипун фото

В Беларуси лебедь-шипун периодически остаётся на зимовку, но большая часть птиц улетает во второй половине осени и возвращается в конце марта – первых числах апреля. Лебеди моногамные птицы, создают пару на всю жизнь и стараются держаться только своей семьёй.

Фотографии лебедей

Птенцов шипуны выводят в конце мая – начале июня, обычно около 5-10 лебедят. Что интересно процессы выращивания потомства самка и самец разделяют.

Лебедзь-шыпун Беларусь

Птенцы лебедя имеют серый окрас и почти весь свой первый год держатся вблизи родителей.

Cygnus olor

Нередко можно заметить как лебедята ездят на спинах своих родителей, зрелище милое.

Лебеденок

Внешне шипуна легко спутать с лебедем-кликуном, основное различие – размеры и цвет клюва (у кликуна он жёлтый, а размер чуть меньше).

Как выглядит лебедь-шипун

Любимые места обитания – водоёмы со стоячей водой и обилием растительности по берегам. Основной рацион питания – водные растения. С 1993 года лебедь-шипун внесён в Красную книгу Беларуси.

5 1 голос
Оцените статью
Подписаться
уведомления
0 Комментарий
Inline Feedbacks
Посмотреть все комментарии