One of the unique attractions of the Novogrudok region is the ancient estate Khreptovichi in the agricultural town Shchors. Once upon a time, the richest region with a unique palace and park complex was known far beyond its native lands and was considered the family estate of the Litovor-Khreptovich branch, starting from the first half of the 16th century. Now several outbuildings, the Muravanka courtyard, a landscape park with a pond and a library building remind of the former greatness of this place. Unfortunately, the Khreptovich palace itself did not survive; only the foundation and the left wing have survived to this day.

Palatsava-parkava complex Khraptovichau near Shchorsakh
the place where the palace was located on the modern landscape

The construction of the palace was started by Joachim Litovor-Khreptovich, who in 1770 ordered the project from the Italian architect Giuseppe de Sacco (the master completed many orders in Grodno and was considered the personal architect of Anthony Tyzenhaus). In addition, the no less talented Jakub Gabriel was invited to help him, and Carlo Spampani was responsible for the interiors and decoration. After 6 years of painstaking and diligent work, a unique Khreptovichi complex appeared in Shchorski, surrounded by a park and an artificial lake. The central part was the palace, which was a one-story building in a classical style with Baroque elements.

Shchorsy estate old drawing
1878, Napoleon Orda, park side of the estate

In 1777, the palace began to be expanded, with outbuildings being added on both sides. The right one (relative to the main entrance) served as stables, and the left one (it has been preserved) was for staff and servants.

Outbuilding of the estate in Shchorsy
Western wing, photo 2014

Khreptovich stable
Part of the stables from the East wing, 2024

As a result, the composition of the palace and outbuildings formed a large platform with a decorative oval in the center. On the side of the main entrance there was a gate and a fence, the stone columns of which were partially preserved.

Brama Shchorsy
Zdymak 1917 from the album “Szczorse i Chreptowicze”

In the middle of the 19th century, the composition of the palace was slightly disturbed, the Khreptovichi expanded the administrative part. Behind the western wing, a kind of square of one-story buildings is being built.

Khreptovichi estate in Shchorsy
In the photo in the lower part there is the Western wing, and a little further there is a square enclosed courtyard - these are buildings dating back to the 19th century

Shchorsy Khraptovicha

Perhaps the most valuable was the library that Joachim Litovor-Chreptowicz collected throughout his life. His passion was then continued by his son and descendants.

Shchorsy estate: what remains of the Khreptovichi estate, Murovanka
former library building
Library in Shchorsy
2014 photo of the year

The architecture features a “closed” portico on 6 massive columns, adjacent to which are 2 one-story buildings. Apparently this is the old part of the library, but the two-story building was built much later. The building has a curious balcony on 4 Doric columns. After the Second World War and until 1982, the local school was located here.

Khreptovichi estate

The library was truly luxurious, its collection consisted of more than 20000 books, as well as engravings and various luxury items. Therefore, it is not surprising that Adam Mickiewicz and Jan Chechot even came here to work for inspiration. The worst thing is that all this literary wealth was burned in 1940. Some of the books were destroyed right in the yard in Shchorsy, and some were taken to Lyubcha.

Shchorsy Belarus

In 1914, the war began and the front line just passed through Shchorsy. The palace was then severely destroyed and was never restored. However, the ruins stood for quite a long time and were dismantled already in the 50s.

Zdymak 1917, old pasta

In Soviet times, part of the buildings of the former estate was used for the needs of the collective farm, but for example, the western wing became a kindergarten for many years. All this had a rather negative impact on the condition of the buildings, most of which look abandoned. Not long ago, a unique building of the complex – a smokehouse – was put up for auction.

Smokehouse Shchorsa

There have been countless conversations about restoring the entire complex, and there have even been very specific attempts. By the way, even today building materials lie on the territory, conservation of ruins is being carried out. The Shchorsy and Khreptovichi charitable foundation did a lot for the reconstruction, under which the Shchorsy museum-estate appeared here.

In addition to viewing the exhibition composition and studying the history, you can stay here for the night by renting a room or the entire estate.

Special attention deserves utility yard “Muravanka”, which Khreptovichi built in the first half of the 19th century.

household yard “Murovanka Khreptovichi”

The complex is designed with features of castle architecture, so even today it is mistaken for one of the unknown castles in Belarus.

Shchorsy household yard Murovanka

The fate of “Muravanka” was as sad as that of the Khreptovich Palace. In the late 80s, the buildings became unnecessary and were simply abandoned. And then nature and “caring” citizens did their job.

There is also an interesting fact that is connected with Shchorsy; the multi-part series “Cursed Cozy House” was filmed here. In the series you can see many interesting shots taken within the walls of the library.

Of course, this estate is not the only one that the Khreptovichs owned in Belarus. Palace in Grodno, manor house in Beshenkovichi, "Odrovonzh” in Vishnevo and many others. Below is a dot marking the place where the estate is located:

Also watch this little old review video:

1 COMMENT

LEAVE AN ANSWER

Enter your comment
Your name