The list of sights of the city of Orsha includes the former Monastery of the Basilian Orderwhich was located on the right bank Orshitsa river. It was founded in the middle of the 17th century and was originally Uniate. The first buildings were made of wood, and the construction of stone Church of the Guardianship of Our Lady and the residential buildings of the Basilian monks themselves date back to the second half of the 18th century.

Former Basilian monastery in Orsha
2022 photo of the year

After the defeat of the uprising of 1832, the Basilian monastery was closed, and the buildings were transferred to the use of the Orthodox Church. Since that time, the men's Pokrovsky Monastery began to work on this site. A little later, the temple was rebuilt and reconsecrated, since 1842 - Cathedral of the Intercession of the Holy Mother of God.

Lost heritage church in Orsha
photo of the first half of the 20th century

The church and the monastery have not survived to this day. Today you can see only one of the stone buildings.

What did the Basilian monastery in Orsha look like?
photo 2014, now the building looks different

Basilian Corps in Orsha

At the beginning of the 20th century, the Intercession Monastery stopped working. During the war, the temple was badly damaged, but still retained its unique baroque architecture.

What did the Church of the Holy Mother of God in Orsha look like?

Unfortunately, in the 60s it was decided to demolish this unique architectural monument. Partially survived the monastery buildings, which were converted into housing.

Where is the former Basilian monastery in Orsha located?

Ruined Basilian Church in Orsha
1941, archivist Uladzimer Sadowsk

The former monastery complex is located in Museum Lane 12, below the mark on the map:

On the other side of the river was bernardine monastery and the Trinitarian complex. In the center you can visit ethnographic museum in an old mill and the Jesuit Collegium.

5 1 vote
Rate this article
0 Comment
Inline feedback
View all comments